Search Unity

Installed editor using hub but I can't add modules.

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by GrafSpee, Oct 4, 2019.

1. GrafSpee

GrafSpee

This is my first time using Unity Hub since I didn't want to use it.
    I've been hearing that it sucks but today I wanted to try it since Unity is now requiring people to install the hub to use the latest versions.

I installed the version 2019.2.7f2 which was the latest version yesterday. It took me 8 hrs just to install it (something seems wrong with the installation time as well). Today I wanted to try out the new version. Tried to open an old project of mine then I selected to import the old project to a new version but then it says that I needed the Android Player. Which I bet that I did since I always do it. I always check everything that is android related module every time I download a unity version. So I guess I just have to try and install it again. I searched online for a way to do it and I read that you just have to click the 3 dots. I checked on it using the unity hub but it's not showing me the add module option I only get "Show in Explorer" and "Remove from Hub". Which are the options that will show if you didn't install the unity version using the Hub. This is definitely a bug since I installed it using the hub and you can't install that version without the hub.

Is there a way for me to make the hub recognize the editor that I just installed as something that the hub itself installed?

2. afshinity

afshinity

Unity Technologies

Hi there,

Currently, the hub realizes the installation is done through the Unity Hub if a file called `modules.json` is written next to it. We are working to relax this constraint.
    It is difficult to know why this file is not created in your installation without looking into the logs. It would be great if you can report a bug, then we can look into the logs

Here is my suggestion as a workaround