Search Unity

Installation Problems

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by tcmeric, Jul 18, 2017.

  1. tcmeric

    tcmeric

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Posts:
    190
    I am using 2017.1 plus cinemachine 2.0.1 . After installation of the package from the asset store, I get the following errors. No other errors that would stop a complier update in console.

    Assets/Cinemachine/Base/Editor/Editors/CinemachineStateDrivenCameraEditor.cs(113,76): error CS0039: Cannot convert type `UnityEngine.RuntimeAnimatorController' to `AnimatorController' via a built-in conversion

    Assets/Cinemachine/Base/Editor/Editors/CinemachineStateDrivenCameraEditor.cs(124,45): error CS1061: Type `AnimatorController' does not contain a definition for `layers' and no extension method `layers' of type `AnimatorController' could be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?

    Any ideas as to the cause?
     
  2. JakubSmaga

    JakubSmaga

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Posts:
    417
    Try removing it and re-importing again.
     
  3. tcmeric

    tcmeric

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Posts:
    190
    Thanks. I tried that, as well as opening and closing unity and making sure that there were no other console issues. Strange problem.
     
  4. JakubSmaga

    JakubSmaga

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Posts:
    417
    Looks like it's engine bug or something, could you try reinstalling Unity?

    If you really need to use Cinemachine in your project right now try 2017.2 Beta https://unity3d.com/unity/beta
     
    Adam_Myhill likes this.
  5. Adam_Myhill

    Adam_Myhill

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    342
    @JacobSmaga you're on point to become an honorary CM fellow
     
    JakubSmaga likes this.
  6. tcmeric

    tcmeric

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Posts:
    190
    Thanks Jacob. Ill give it a try and see how it goes. I appreciate your help.
     
  7. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    7,728
    We are aware of no compatibility problems between CM 2.0.1 and Unity 2017.1.
    Maybe it is something in your project?
    Have you tried creating a new project, adding CM, then bringing in your other assets gradually until the error appears?
     
  8. tcmeric

    tcmeric

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Posts:
    190
    So far it works on a clean project with just TMP and playmaker. Ill try and bring in other all the other assets I am using on my main project to see if it will come up again. The main project was updated from 5.5 to 2017.1, so I am wondering if that is part of the issue. Thanks.
     
  9. imaginationrabbit

    imaginationrabbit

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Posts:
    349
    I'm getting the same errors using fresh install/project using Unity 2017.1.0f3 and CInemachine 2.0.1- tried reinstalling Cinemachine- same errors show up

     
  10. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    7,728
    We get no such errors on fresh install with an empty project. Are you sure you have an empty project?
    The first thing I would look for is the definition of the "AnimatorController" class. There appears to be a conflict here.
     
  11. imaginationrabbit

    imaginationrabbit

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Posts:
    349
    Problem ended up being another asset from the store that had some scripts that were causing the error with Cinemachine- thanks for the reply-
     
  12. tcmeric

    tcmeric

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Posts:
    190
    mdotstange, do you know what it was? I still havent figured out which asset. I tried a new project and loaded in a ton of assets, but couldnt get the same error. Still would like to fix my main project if I can figure out which asset it is.
     
  13. imaginationrabbit

    imaginationrabbit

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Posts:
    349
    I narrowed it down to an animation controller that came with a character model I bought on the asset store- so might want to check your animation controllers out-
     
    tcmeric and Adam_Myhill like this.
  14. NoBullIntentions_P

    NoBullIntentions_P

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    311
    If anyone else runs into this problem, it's a problem with AnimationController.cs, which is part of several of the Suriyun character assets on the Asset Store. My solution was to simply enclose that class in a namespace Suriyun declaration so that nothing else can see it.
     
  15. inviromatt

    inviromatt

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    What the FUDGE does this mean? ... like.... explain it like you're talking to an animator...
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
  16. erpatton

    erpatton

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    55
    Oh my god, thank you! I was so confused since their AnimatorController.cs file shows up with the icon for a controller and not a script.


    He means that if you're using any of the 3D model assets from the store that came from the publisher Suriyun, there's a script file that they named AnimatorController.cs in there that's messing with everything. You just wrap the code file contents like this with a namespace (makes it where their version of AnimatorController won't mess with Unity's version):


    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. namespace Suriyun
    3. {
    4.     public class AnimatorController : MonoBehaviour
    5.     {
    6.         // all the code inside this thing
    7.     }
    8. }
    Save it, and then the compile errors should be gone.