Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

install on device

Discussion in 'BlackBerry' started by creat327, Jul 31, 2013.

  1. creat327

    creat327

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,759
    Hi there,
    Silly question but I see nothing on the faq or quick start guide.
    When I hit "build and run", the compiled bar file doesn't install on the device. Instead, my windows 8 machine asks me which program I want to use to open it.

    Do i need a specific software installed so that it copies over the device? The device is plugged in, on local mode, all certificates and ip address set up. It is just that it seems the generated file stays on my pc and doesn't transfer over. Instead it asks me which program i want to use to open the generated file.
     
  2. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,287
    The docs have some steps that you can use to manually install the bar on the device, see:

    http://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/Manual/bb10-faq.html

    It's probably worth trying to install manually, since it may highlight what or when Windows throws up the prompt. The tools needed to deploy to the device are included in the Unity installer.
     
  3. Trilusion

    Trilusion

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    60
  4. GlutenFreeGames

    GlutenFreeGames

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    51
    Im on OSX and didnt have to install Blacberry Link. Just fyi
     
  5. TuesdayNinja

    TuesdayNinja

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    @creat327 - our guy with a Windows 8 machine says he just tried it and says he gets the pop up but that the *.bar still deploys to the device. We'll add that to the known issue list and work on make it less cantankerous. Can you double check and see if it does indeed push to the phone for you? If not, please submit a bug and we'll look into it pronto.

    @ AppHappyStudios - recommend you install BlackBerry Link. It's how BlackBerry pushes firmware updates to you. I've found it to be pretty useful in doing lots of little tasks.