Search Unity

  1. Curious about what's going to be in 2021.1? Have a look at the 2021.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Inspector occasionally doesn't respond to selecting new Objects

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by hippocoder, Oct 31, 2019.

  1. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    26,892
    In alpha 9
     
  2. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    Are you sure it's not locked?
     
  3. SugoiDev

    SugoiDev

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    338
    I can confirm this. Not sure how to reproduce, but saw it multiple times during recompile-reload cycles. In my case, selecting objects in the project browser did not change the inspector. I had to select something in the hierarchy first, then the inspectors would react to selection in the project browser again.

    Did not see it yet in a11.
     
    hippocoder likes this.
  4. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    26,892
    Yeah that's it. I'll keep an eye out for it in a11, not seen it yet though.
     
  5. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    I haven't used Alpha 9 a lot and never noticed this behaviour but Alpha 9 is no longer in the works since Alpha 11 has just been released. I worked with it some time today and didn't noticed this behaviour either.
     
  6. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    7,451
    It also randomly happened in the previous version (or maybe 2 versions ago?) of 2018.4 LTS and Windows, haven't seen it in the latest version though.
     
  7. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    Me neither and I've been using it for several hours this morning.
     
  8. SugoiDev

    SugoiDev

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    338
    Just got it in a11, so I guess it's still there somehow.
    I got it right after opening the editor.
     
  9. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    The editor was fully open? What did you try to select? Did you try selecting it in the Hierarchy view or in the scene view?
     
  10. SugoiDev

    SugoiDev

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    338
    Similar to what I mentioned before.
    After opening, trying to select anything in the project browser didn't update the inspector (it was blank).
    Only after selecting a hierarchy object the inspector was normal again.
     
  11. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    I've tried this, the only objects that do not update the inspector are the main folders in Assets and Packages. For example, if I select the Scene folders in Assets nothing happens in the Inspector, if I select the sub-folders in Scene or a scene, the Inspector updates.

    Incidentally, and completely unrelated, I just noticed that I am missing the Package Manager UI in Packages...
     
  12. SugoiDev

    SugoiDev

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    338
    Yeah, I can't reproduce it either. It just happens sometimes. I didn't get it yet in compile-reload cycles in a11, but it was very infrequent with a9 too, so I'm not sure anything changed.


    Me too. Since when is it no longer a package? I think it's been a while since I last noticed it there.
     
  13. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,527
    I guess since 2019.3:
    https://unity3d.com/unity/beta/2019.3.0b9
     
    SugoiDev likes this.
  14. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    Okay, I stopped following the beta testings...
     
  15. JohnHudeski

    JohnHudeski

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Posts:
    126
    The inspector has been a bit crazy since the first 2020 alpha. I was about to post a rant here but I'm glad someone else saw it
     
  16. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    I still have to experience this... I've been using 2020.1 for hours lately without noticing this problem.
     
  17. GarrettCMiller

    GarrettCMiller

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Posts:
    26
    I've been having the same issue (first in 2019.3.3, now also in 2019.3.9). I can't identify the cause, but once it starts, my inspector doesn't update on ANY new selection in any window, unless I set the Inspector to Debug view (or vice versa). But then I have to do that for EVERY new object selection. So I generally just have to restart Unity, which is a good 4-5 minutes...
     
    avinash213 likes this.
  18. mellis

    mellis

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    I have this exact same problem in 2019.3.15f1. Very frustrating...
     
  19. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    I have this problem, occasionally, with 2020.2...
     
    ImpossibleRobert likes this.
  20. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,419
    If you manage to find a way to reproduce the behaviour somewhat consistently, a bug report would be much appreciated.
     
  21. ge01f

    ge01f

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Posts:
    61
    This is still happening on 2019.4.4f1. I saw it before as well. It only happens to me in play mode. Not locked. Closing and re-opening Inspector window doesnt help. Stopping play always works to "bring it back to working".

    Switching to Scene also doesnt do anything during the broken play mode.
     
  22. avinash213

    avinash213

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Same problem, any help?
     
  23. ImpossibleRobert

    ImpossibleRobert

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Posts:
    350
    I have it all the time in 2020.1b16. Inspector stays blank or shows last selected item. The only workaround is to switch to debug mode and back. Happens only in play mode for me.
     
unityunity