Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Bug Inspector becomes blank as soon as I change a value

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by niuage, Jan 7, 2024.

  1. niuage

    niuage

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Posts:
    123
    Just fyi, I reset Unity layout to the default settings, so it shouldn't be related to that.

    1) Select a prefab, in this case, Imp_MOB_PREF
    upload_2024-1-7_10-4-40.png

    2) Change a value in the inspector on the right. For instance, I set the Radius to 2, and then focus out (either by pressing tab or selecting another field. I doesn't only happen for prefabs, same when I select a game object in the scene and change a value in the inspector (although it's not consistent). BUT, it doesnt happen when I select an image in the Project window for instance and changes its settings.

    What happens?

    upload_2024-1-7_10-6-49.png

    - the prefab gets deselected in the Project window.
    - the Inspector is blanked

    How can I fix that issue? That's not the expected behaviour right?

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2024
  2. niuage

    niuage

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Posts:
    123
    No one experienced that or has an idea of the possible source of the issue (some script or something)?

    I can also upload a video if my explanations are not clear.
     
  3. spiney199

    spiney199

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2021
    Posts:
    8,391
    What Unity version? Is there an updated version you can update your project to?

    Any inspector addons potentially interfering? I've not experienced this in either the latest 2021 or 2023 versions.

    It might not be related, but I see the hot-reload plugin. That seems to be a constant source of issues from what I've seen, so perhaps pull that out and test.
     
  4. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2024
    Posts:
    549
    No, it isn't expected. But it is very likely that it is a custom script somewhere. Something does unselect your item. You can try to find out what is causing it if you make a list about everything in your project which isn't Unity official package (it is very unlikely that those cause thing, although who knows, obviously), you either start to remove those plugins one by one and check after each removal if the issue is still there or try to create a new project and add the one by one and check it the issue appears.
     
  5. niuage

    niuage

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Posts:
    123
    Thanks, I'll try to narrow down the issue as you two mentioned.