Search Unity

InputField issue in standalone build on linux

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Tyler_Goran, Jan 10, 2018.

  1. Tyler_Goran

    Tyler_Goran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Text input fields work correctly in editor and in stand alone windows builds from my Unity 2017.3.0f1 installation on Ubuntu18.04, however when I run a standalone linux build and type in any InputField every key entry is duplicated.

    Edit:
    When testing further if I try to type in capital letters in the input field only one of the inputs for each key-press is in capitals ... e.g. pressing Shift + F results in fF displaying in the input field.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
  2. PJayB

    PJayB

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Posts:
    105
    Thanks for reporting. QA have verified this and we'll look into it.
     
  3. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
  4. ooviixoo

    ooviixoo

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    I just came to the forums looking for a solution to an identical problem. Seeing the behavior using a TMP_InputField.
     
  5. everdom

    everdom

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Unluckily, I have the same problem on Ubuntu 16.04, I'm using Unity 2017.3.0f1, and I have tried compiling my project using Unity 2017.3.0f3 windows version, but it still doesn't work.
     
  6. everdom

    everdom

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I just downloaded Unity 2017.3.0p2 and test it, but the problem still existed.
    And I found another problem about input filed on Ubuntu 16.04: I can't input Chinese using fcitx input method, both in editor and executable program.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2018
  7. zibas

    zibas

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    The bug is marked fixed, but only in 2018.1 beta? Does that mean there is no stable version of Unity where it's actually fixed? It's a pretty serious bugfix to leave out of the recent 2017.4.
     
  8. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    It means it has not been backported yet since all the fixes go into the current version that is under development by default. It is on the list of things to backport.
     
  9. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Any updates on the status of this fix? Is it available in any version of Unity yet? 2017.4, 2018.1?
     
  10. cobolfoo

    cobolfoo

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    I have the bug with Unity 2018.1.0b13
     
  11. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    will soon be patched in 2018.1 and 2017.4
     
    mons00n likes this.
  12. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Any updated news about this? I haven't seen this fix in a patch yet.
     
  13. Vegoo89

    Vegoo89

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Posts:
    6
    Hello, any updates on this? My game requires user input, however problem mentioned above still exists.
     
    mons00n likes this.
  14. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    The fix is in 2017.4.3f1 but slipped by the release notes. It is now added.

    Checking on where 2018.1.x is at with that.
     
  15. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    2018.1 is still en route to a point release. Hopefully soon, so check the release notes for the release after next or the one after that. Sorry for the delay :(
     
  16. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Any chance this fix is in 2018.1.3f1 and missed the notes like 2017?
     
  17. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    Sadly that is not the case.
     
  18. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Ok, thanks a lot for the update!
     
  19. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    I have initial reports from our QA team that a Linux standalone build on 2017.4.4f1 (which I assume should have the fix since 2017.4.3f1 is supposed to) did not fix our input issues. I will see if I can get more details, have you heard of any others saying this fix didn't work?
     
  20. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Yeah, we are still having issues. Our game has some standard third-person MMO style controls. You can strafe right/left with A and D for example. One symptom is if you hold down either of those keys for about 5 second and then left go, it will continue strafing that direction for quite a while, and if you try to hit the opposite key, it's ignored for a while as well. It's like the input is buffered and continued for much longer than it should be.

    I can get a more technical explination / details if needed, but Linux input issues are not fixed for us.

    I thought this bug was marked as fixed, but now it looks like it isnt?

    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...ot-getkey-changes-values-while-key-is-pressed
     
  21. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Sorry, more info, it is Ubuntu 15.10 that we have this issue on, which I think is technically older than Unity officially supports, we don't have the issue on 16.04. We can open up testing to a wider user base to see who else experiences this.

    Edit: Actually, we upgraded that machine to a clean 16.04 and it still has the issue. Inputs work fine on Unity 2017.2 builds, but not 2017.4 builds (both using latest patches.) Not sure what the issue is, some hardware difference?
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2018
  22. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Ok, the latest clue is that it is related to framerate/performance. We were able to reproduce on the machine that wasn't having the issue by reducing the framerate (the other machine that has the issue always runs the game slow because it is older.) At ~60 fps, input seems fine. At ~30, it starts to get delayed a bit, 25 or below, it's very noticeable, it's like input buffers up and all movement controls are delayed. The lower the framerate, the more delay and buffering. This doesn't happen in our game on Windows, and doesn't happen in Unity 2017.2 linux builds, but does happen in Unity 2017.4 linux builds.
     
    mons00n likes this.
  23. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Ok, I've created a new bug report, using the example Unity project that ships with the Unity installer. The Unity issue number is 1049679
     
  24. BurningToad

    BurningToad

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    56
  25. Alloc

    Alloc

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Posts:
    241
    @Schubkraft can we get an update on the status of the fix for the 2018.1 branch?
    A major issue rendering a whole desktop platform unusable for this long doesn't seem like an improvement to the QA process claimed last year :(
     
  26. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    Sorry yet again for the delay but the fix for that particular branch hit a lot of unfortunate events in a row. But it is approved now and can move forward in the process.
     
  27. Alloc

    Alloc

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Posts:
    241
    Cool, thank you :)
    Any details on when it might hit public? 2018.1.8 already?
     
  28. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    It should be fixed in 2018.1.9 which is live now. Please give it a go and file a bug report if it isn't fixed for your case.
     
  29. Alloc

    Alloc

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Posts:
    241
    Thank you, Schubkraft :)
     
  30. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,212
    More or less the same story in 2018.2.2
    In a simple UI input field pressing left shift results in a special character |
    using the right shift prints a j like character.
    So all attempts at an uppercase letter result in an extra character. You can delete the character, but it's entirely unintended.

    I don't see the keys being held down improperly though.
     
  31. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    Dang. We can repro this inhouse and will see to get it fixed
     
  32. PJayB

    PJayB

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Posts:
    105
    This is fixed in the 2018.4 LTS.
     
  33. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,212
    I saw a staff member saying 2018.3 was "before the end of the year" I assume 2018.4 is after that? Are there any suggestions how we can go about working around this? I suppose scanning the text for the characters OnValueChanged and removing them?
     
  34. TimClancy

    TimClancy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Any news? An update is sorely needed to fix the "shift printing characters in Linux" thing.
     
  35. willemsenzo

    willemsenzo

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Posts:
    585
    So now we are 1.5 years later and this bug is still present in 2019.1. Can we get a fix already pretty please?
     
  36. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    Which bug exactly are you referring (there are several being talked about in this thread) and which Unity version are you using?
     
  37. willemsenzo

    willemsenzo

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Posts:
    585
    I'm talking about the bug where when you enter text into a GUI.Input it gets duplicated, so when you want to type 'hello' it actually enters 'hheelllloo'. I thought this was only occuring with the old GUI inputfields, but upon testing I saw it also happens with the InputField in a UI Canvas. I'm using 2019.1.0f2 on Linux Mint 18.2. This Unity version is the most stable I found, but the bug I'm describing makes it impossible for me to make even a very basic UI with text inputs. I must note I haven't made a build to see if it happens there too, I'm experiencing this in playmode while in the editor.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2019
  38. Schubkraft

    Schubkraft

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,073
    I checked this with 2019.1.3 and 2019.1.12 and can't reproduce this in either version in the editor.
    If you still can please submit a new report about the issue.
     
  39. willemsenzo

    willemsenzo

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Posts:
    585
    When I make a build the input works normal, but in the editor it's a serious problem. I work around this by manually polling input events and checking which key is pressed, then set the text in the inputfield, which is far from ideal from a development point of view.
     
  40. willemsenzo

    willemsenzo

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Posts:
    585
    I can confirm this issue is solved in 2019.3.0a12
     
  41. peng_s

    peng_s

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Unity Linux version "Inputfield" cannot input Chinese