Search Unity

Feedback Input System - Generate C# Code: What Its Good For

Discussion in 'Input System' started by UncleAlias, Oct 28, 2020.

1. UncleAlias

UncleAlias

Okay, I've been trying to understand the script that you get from the "Generate C# Class" button (I'm going to call it the Wrapper Script) but I'm not an expert and not experienced enough to really understand the script itself, so I welcome feedback on whether I have all this right:
    1. It is meant as an alternative to the PlayerInput component, but isn't good for local multiplayer.
    2. It creates a set of properties to easily refer to the actions and action maps, but you can do the same thing with PlayerInput using FindAction and FindActionMap, you just have to use strings, which is not great, but workable.
    3. There is no good documentation for it.
    4. You can't rely on the documentation for things like ̶I̶n̶p̶u̶t̶A̶c̶t̶i̶o̶n̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ (edit: Actions are actually InputActions) InputActionMap, because those things are of a different type in the Wrapper Script. MyGeneratedClass.SomeActionMap is of type SomeActionMapActions, which is different from an InputActionMap. Of course, these made-up names can't be looked up.
    If all this is the case, I guess my big question is: Why are so many tutorials and guides touting the Wrapper Script as the way to handle c# events? What's the point of giving a beginner a short example of something that they can't easily learn more about, and that will be discarded if they want to do local multiplayer? I didn't even realize I could do C# events with just PlayerInput at first. I had to scour the documentation for PlayerInput before I realised "Oh, this does all the things the Wrapper Script does!". But at least I was able to figure that out from the documentation.
    I feel like I'm missing something. Is there something really important that the Wrapper Script does?

Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
    dval, JKrypto and MirageOwl like this.
  2. Rene-Damm