Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Official Input System 1.7.0 released

Discussion in 'Input System' started by Pauliusd, Aug 22, 2023.

  1. Pauliusd

    Pauliusd

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hello Input System users!

    The Input Team would like to announce that Input System 1.7.0 has been released!

    We would like to highlight the improvements in this version:
    - Changed the InputAction constructors so it generates an ID for the action and the optional binding parameter. This is intended to improve the serialization of input actions on behaviors when created through API when the property drawer in the Inspector window does not have a chance to generate an ID
    - Now showing a list of Derived Bindings underneath the Binding Path editor to show all controls that matched:



    Major bug fixes:
    - Fixed issues with generating Precompiled Layouts for devices which are not defined in a namespace
    - Fixed an issue where some controls like QuaternionControl could not be included in a Precompiled Layout because the generated code could not access a setter on child control properties.
    - Fixed Tracked Pose Driver to use Transform.SetLocalPositionAndRotation when available to improve performance.
    - Fixed serialization migration in the Tracked Pose Driver component causing bindings to clear when prefabs are used in some cases

    More details about all the improvements and fixes in the package changelog.

    Input system 1.7.0 is available starting from:
    • 2021.3.30f1
    • 2022.3.9f1
    • 2023.1.10f1
    • 2023.2.0b7
    Or alternatively you can manually specify "1.7.0" in your manifest.json.
    And if it's your first time hearing about the input system you can find an introduction in the manual.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 23, 2023
    NotaNaN, Lurking-Ninja and Mj-Kkaya like this.
  2. llentinantl

    llentinantl

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    It does seem that button assignment UI is broken in this version. Tested this on multiple projects, issue is persistent. 1.6.3 does not have it.
    Untitled.png
     
    moatdd and bugfinders like this.
  3. Pauliusd

    Pauliusd

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you llentinantl, this bug is already known to us. It was caused by a typo fix to the styling API in the Editor itself while our package was still using the misspelled name. We've fixed it in 1.7.0 for the newer Editor versions yet we didn't foresee older ones remaining broken, so an additional fix has been made. Unfortunately, it didn't make it to 1.7.0 so you'll either have to update your Editor to the latest version or edit this file in the package to get the fix early: https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/InputSystem/pull/1730/files
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

  5. Deleted User likes this.
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

  7. moatdd

    moatdd

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    178
    I updated my editor to (2022.3.13f1), but it didn't fix the problem.

    upload_2023-11-20_17-32-10.png
     
  8. TrizZzle

    TrizZzle

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    Editor 2022.3.15f1 still has this issue.

    Manually fixing it doesn't work either:

    Import Error Code:(4)
    Message: Build asset version error: packages/com.unity.inputsystem/inputsystem/editor/internal/advanceddropdown/advanceddropdowngui.cs in SourceAssetDB has modification time of '2023-12-19T15:33:18.517303Z' while content on disk has modification time of '2023-09-20T03:18:58Z'
     
  9. WilsonCWong

    WilsonCWong

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    33
    Could we get a point release for 1.7.0 for this bug fix? I had to embed the input package and manually apply the fix even on the latest LTS (2022.3.19f1)
     
  10. PanthenEye

    PanthenEye

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    2,018
    It's been 6 months, is getting one typo fixed officially too much to ask? Does the Input System package have a policy of no hotfixes for half a year? Only LTS releases of Unity are recommended for production. Real projects do not upgrade to unstable versions of Unity for simple package hotfixes.
     
    WilsonCWong likes this.
  11. Jagox777

    Jagox777

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2024
    Posts:
    2
    I have problems learning unity, the new input system does not work with the tutorials, they have the old input system and iam trying to connect the game to android but i cant.
     
  12. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2024
    Posts:
    310
    It has nothing to do with the 1.7 release. But, regardless if learning the new input system is too much extra on the top of the other things, you can use the old input manager what is in the tutorials and you will learn the new input system later, when you're confident with the whole Unity thing a little bit more.