Search Unity

Input.GetKeyDown being registered multiple times

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by mdzoidberg, Feb 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mdzoidberg

mdzoidberg

Complete newbie to Unity here!

Im having difficulties in how to get around Input.GetKeyDown being triggered multiple times.

According to the documentation, it seems as it is the automatically repeated keypress settings "at the end user". That is neat-o and all, but how can i work around it? Is there a way to distinguish between an auto-repeated keystroke and the actual "initial key being pressed down" event?

e.g. say i have the code below; pressing and holding space will "Jump" untill you release it.

Code (csharp):
    2. public KeyCode Jump //Set to Space
    4. void Update () {
    5.   if (Input.GetKeyDown(Jump)) {
    6.     //Jump
    7.   }
    8. }

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

Not sure what you mean; GetKeyDown can not fire again until the key is released, as the docs say. "It will not return true until the user has released the key and pressed it again." Either you have the script attached multiple times, or you might have a keyboard malfunction.

--Eric

Homicide, Ryiah and SarfaraazAlladin like this.
  3. SarfaraazAlladin

SarfaraazAlladin

Eric is right. My only other suggestion is that there's a flaw in your jump code.

If you Debug.Log from inside of your Input.GetKeyDown() call, is the message output more than once in the console?

4. omriben3110

omriben3110

I got a similar problem, i did put a debug log. it registered up to 7 times in one press, is it something with the frame update?

5. Schneider21

Schneider21

Like everyone (and the documentation) has said, it fires only during the frame the key press started. Do you maybe have this script attached to 7 different objects in the scene? Can you share some code and/or screenshots of your project with us?

6. Rexor4321

Rexor4321