Search Unity

Input from Keyboard is delayed

Discussion in 'Input System' started by Caidek, May 27, 2020.

1. Caidek

Caidek

Hello all,

I am new to using the new unity input 1.0 system and have been having an issue with it. I have code that polls for if the keyboard button is being held or not, which works, however it appears to only fire on 1 of every 5-10 key presses.

Example:

Player presses F key - attack fires, player holds F key - stomp attack fires
    Player presses F key - nothing happens, Player presses F key - nothing happens, Player holds F key - nothing happens, Player presses F key - attack fires.

Can someone take a look and see if I am doing something wrong?

Input Actions File

Input c# script

Code (CSharp):
    1. private void ProcessPlayerInput()
    2.         {
    3.             // Update horizontal inputs
    4.             horizontal += controls.Player.Move.ReadValue<float>();
    5.             horizontalRaw += horizontal;
    7.             // Clamp horizontal to -1, 0, 1 as opposed to horizontalRaw which is not clamped
    8.             horizontal = Mathf.Clamp(horizontal, -1f, 1f);
    10.             // Check for jump inputs
    11.             jumpPressed = jumpPressed || controls.Player.Jump.triggered;
    13.             // Poll for attack inputs
    14.             controls.Player.Attack.performed +=
    15.             ctx =>
    16.             {
    17.                 if (ctx.interaction is HoldInteraction)
    18.                 {
    19.                     // Attack button being held = perform stomp attack
    20.                     stompAttack = true;
    21.                 }
    22.                 else
    23.                 {
    24.                     // Attack button was only pressed = basic attack
    25.                     basicAttack = true;
    26.                 }
    27.             };
    28.         }