Search Unity

Initial research into game development (a few questions)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GreyDog, Oct 15, 2005.

1. GreyDog

GreyDog

Hello, I'm an arborist by trade and a hobbyist webdeveloper/graphic artist. I've recently taken up 3D modeling (Blender) and this has peaked my interest in developing a game of my own. In googeling for the tools, knowledge and other aspects need for the task I came across your fine program.

While I fully intend to dig deeper into Unity I do have a few questions I couldn't find answers to in the two hours I've been been here looking around.

The game I have in mind will be either a sea based or space based rpg/adventure type game, loosely based on the old "Uncharted Waters" series from KOEI (wonderful game) I am curious if some of the features can be done within your editor and how difficult it would be for the almost absolute beginner to achieve (I know 2 or 3 web languages depending if you concider css a language :wink:)

Some of the things I'd like to have:

1) A comprehensive trading system. I am not sure if another engine is needed for this or if it is something easily created within Unity.

2) A geographicaly correct world map that would support hundreds of cities, beaches, reefs etc. All locations marked via actual latitude/longitude coordinates.

3) A 3 dimentional space chart (aka "Ascendancy") that would support hundreds of planets and other locations. (I'd develop a coordnate system for it)

I have many, many more but I'll stop here as these are my main "A list" items.

thanks in advance!

2. GreyDog

GreyDog

Thank you for all the helpful tips and comments. I merely wanted to find out what this thing could handle on the high end before I committed myself to learning it :wink:

3. Joachim_Ante

Joachim_Ante

Unity Technologies

Sorry for not having responded earlier.