Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Inherit Position doesn't inherit rotation

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by NiftyParrot, Oct 25, 2021.

1. NiftyParrot

NiftyParrot

This is my first time using Cinemachine, and this might be a pretty basic problem.
    I have a State Driven camera with two virtual child cameras, a FreeLook and a basic VCam. I want to toggle between the child cameras depending on a flag being set, and that's all working well and good in the State Driven camera.

The problem is that I want the VCam to essentially freeze/disable the FreeLook camera and enable another set of mouse controls but when I transition, the VCam looks in the transform.forward direction instead of where the FreeLook is pointing. The InheritPosition property is enabled and the position of the FreeLook is maintained, just not the direction.

57fc848c556a606593d8e6618fcf8b7d.png

2cda99f4de4f048814bb41a1e03b04bc.png

The documentation only mentions position but from what I've read from past threads, the Inherit Position property being enabled means the virtual camera should initialize both position and rotation to those of the virtual camera we just switched from. What's going wrong here? If inheriting rotation isn't intended behavior, could I use the axis values to derive where the VCam should be looking and do it programmatically?

2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

I just tried setting up what you describe. It works perfectly for me. Do you have some other logic that might be interfering? Try setting up this situation in an empty project to see if you can get the transitions to work.

3. NiftyParrot

NiftyParrot