Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback Information regarding the VFX graph is severely lacking!

Discussion in 'Graphics Experimental Previews' started by jackdd_unity, Oct 17, 2019.

1. jackdd_unity

jackdd_unity

For a bit of background I have been using VFX graph and the new render pipelines for roughly 6 months, the VFX graph has been available in Beta since Nov 2018 so we're almost coming up to a year now. It is unfortunate that the lack of documentation on Unity's side has hindered my ability to create with what is an amazing and powerful tool, let me give you some examples.

First time users to this feature will be directed in their search to https://unity.com/visual-effect-graph. Whilst this page does have links to two simple tutorials (only one of which is an official Unity tutorial) there is very little information, where is the Wiki link? It includes a link at the bottom to download the latest version of Unity, but doesn't actually tell you how to set up the VFX graph in it. There are other small things like how they mention VFX graph integrates well with other tools like the timeline and give a hyperlink, this you would think would link to a post explaining how the two are compatible but instead just links to a page about the timeline. It is only if you look in this blog post (about 2/3 down the page) can you actually find a video and a bit of info on how they work together, why not have a link to that video instead!

You may take to their Youtube page to find out more info, there you will find the same lackluster amount of information with only a handful of videos released since the initial release last year. They do have some basic tutorials that skim the surface but you have to mainly rely on other sources to fill in the gaps (thank god for Brackeys!)