Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Influence of terrain height on texture.

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by Zimaell, Sep 4, 2023.

1. Zimaell

Zimaell

How to build graphs so that they do the following - if the height of the vertex of the terrain ends at 0.0001 then one texture, if 0.0002 then another, and so on several different textures.

If necessary, I can construct a heightmap with code, if it is needed in the shader, and if it is not needed and you can somehow do without it, then even better.

I am new to graphs and therefore I don’t even know what nodes are needed for this and according to what logic they should line up ...

(standart terrain, URP)

2. Ne0mega

Ne0mega

I dont believe you can use shadergraph on unity terrain.

Maybe its new in Unity 2023 and i missed the memo...

Anyways, lots of ways to do as you ask. Position node set to object or world would be a good start. Play with, try to understand. SplitRGB, use G,(y axis).

Zimaell likes this.
  3. Zimaell

Zimaell

what's the problem with using a graph shader on a terrain?
    At the moment, I have a question of how to use different textures for the desired areas, 2 textures can be applied using a terrain information map, a PNG file that contains coordinates and vertex data.

The problem with two textures is that I don’t know how to specify something similar to a switch in the shader graph, that is, so that I can set several textures and several case registers for them, and choose the one I need to display from them.

I'm just new to shader graphs, so I don't know how...

4. Ne0mega

Ne0mega

Last i checked, (4 years ago), you could not apply shadergraph shaders to terrain.