Search Unity

Inertia tensor in Matrix Form from InertiaTensor and InertiaTensorRotation

Discussion in 'Physics' started by Maeslezo, Jul 28, 2020.

1. Maeslezo

Maeslezo

Hello,

Inertia tensor is normally defined as a 3x3 Matrix
    upload_2020-7-28_14-2-20.png
    Unity and Physx give something equivalent, an IntertiaTensor, and an InertiaTensorRotation. I think they do it like this because it is cheaper (3+4 = 7 values) against (3x3=9 values).

My question is, having an InertiaTensor and an InertiaTensorRotation, how can I calculate the 3x3 Inertia Tensor?

I reckon this should be quite straightforward but I can't get the maths right

I am tempted to do:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. var intertiaMatrix = Matrix4x4.TRS(Vector3.One, inertiaTensorRotation, inertiaTensor)
    Because TRS transforms the quaternion in a canonical form and it is scaled by the inertia tensor

Thank you

Last edited: Jul 28, 2020
  2. myelin_price

myelin_price

Did you ever figure this out? I'm new to Unity and have a similar requirement.

3. Maeslezo

Maeslezo

No, not really. But this is something I would like to study as soon as I can

4. Edy

Edy

I also tried to get more information on the inertia tensor rotation, but even the PhysX devs seem reluctant to talk about this.

I've been able to convert an inertia tensor matrix to the equivalent inertia tensor vector and inertia tensor rotation by translating the PhysX code, but haven't found the formula that does the opposite.

5. Maeslezo

Maeslezo

Yes actually it is a very opaque topic from the PhysX's side

I could understand that PhysX decided to go to two structures (vector and quaternion) instead of a 3x3 matrix in order to save a little of memory, although this change could increase the number of calculations and operations.

Anyway, I thought the maths from vector + quaternion to 3x3 should be straightforward, but when I did it manually, the results where different, so I think I am missing something here.