Search Unity

1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback "Industry Tier" requirement is prohibiting me from freelance work.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jon_Huhn, Sep 14, 2023.

1. Jon_Huhn

Jon_Huhn

My day job is creating animations for various industries outside of gaming and entertainment. I've wanted to pick up some side work in Unity to make a little extra money, but in order to offer Unity apps to my customers, I'd be forced to buy a $5,000 Industry license because of their yearly revenue, which is very cost prohibitive given that I'm only doing this part time. And no, making $1 million per year is not a lot of revenue for even a small business, so when they come to me they're very cost sensitive. If I tacked on the cost of a subscription, they'd go someplace else, or just opt for a 3d animation instead of a cool interactive Unity app.

This price is waaaaay outside of what even 3ds Max or Maya charges for a year subscription, not to mention Adobe. The "Industry Tier" requirement should be tied to MY revenue, not my client's. This is beyond unreasonable.

2. mgear

mgear

yes, i told that to unity contact person too (that this clause "if you are providing service(s) to a third party, your customer’s or client’s gross revenues" will kill unity freelancing),
    but they didnt care : |

time to use unreal for those kind of projects.

3. Antypodish

Antypodish

Ruslank100 and DragonCoder like this.
  4. mgear

mgear

industry license is not affected with the new pricing stuff.

but they are asking that if you do work for big customer, then you need that license.. which is bad idea.

5. PanthenEye

PanthenEye

Yea, looks like Unity is done on multiple fronts.

Kenneth_ION and Ruslank100 like this.
  6. neginfinity

neginfinity

Yes, this is a known problem with unity license.