Search Unity

Question Individual Tile handling within Tilemaps

Discussion in '2D' started by AdamLacko, Mar 20, 2022.

1. AdamLacko

AdamLacko

Hi,

I work as a freelancer for a game studio and we're prototyping a 2D isometric RPG, very similar to classic Fallout titles. In fact, we're trying to build fairly precise equivalent of the original engine/technology used in classic Fallout titles witin Unity.

Unlike many tile-based 2D games, our game (just like classic Fallout games) is supposed to use tiles that are not shaped after the placement grid. Tile placement and gameplay logic uses special hexagonal grid, while various types of tiles (rendered in trimetric projection, which corresponds with point-top hexagons stretched in 2:1 (X:Y) ratio) have different shapes.

Example:

We decided to use Tilemaps for all static tiles and preferably static/stationary props, as from the technical standpoint, it seemed to be the most performant solution for our case (large amount of sprites with layers and sorting concerns). We figured out the correct setup for the Grid Layout and our tile sprites. We've also created custom mapping/tile placement tools to substitute missing features within native Tilemap tools. However, there's one huge technical obsticle we haven't been able to overcome.

Due to the design requirements, we need a certain level of environmental context implemented. For example, hovering a cursor over any structure tile (walls, doorways, etc.) or prop would result in a simple text description of the object. Additionally, dynamic/animated tiles also require interactibility with cursor (opening/closing doors, etc. - essentially a need to trigger such behavior with a mouse click). For that purpose, we intended to implement custom data structures and functionality into derived Tile classes.