Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Individual animated parts: Moving from legacy to Animator.

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Desprez, Oct 16, 2017.

1. Desprez

Desprez

I've got a lot of experience with scripting and C#, but I have a lot to learn about the Animator system in Unity.
    I've watched some tutorials and done some research, but so far nothing is addressing what I want to do or how to do it. I've spent many wasted hours watching tutorials only to find out half way through they aren't going address what I need. So I turn to you, mighty internet strangers.

Instead of walking-running-breathing character animations (which, unfortunately, most tutorials are geared to) I have mechanical objects with individual moving parts, and animation clips for those isolated part movements. I mean, sure, I guess it would be nice to have the option of adding a "heavy breathing" override animation for my gun turret. You never know...

I originally tried to tackle the problem by building a state machine that activates individual animation clips on individual parts with the legacy animation system. It works, but it's cumbersome and needs a lot of clean-up.

So now, I'm trying to move to the Animator system, and since the animator component already is a state machine, it makes sense to use that, instead of re-inventing the wheel. It would certainly simplify my code.

As a simple example, think of a pop-up gun turret. Say it has three states: Inactive, Ready, and Fire.
    For the transitions in and out of the Inactive state, I need a pop-up animation that moves the whole turret. And for the Fire state, I need a recoil animation for just the barrel.