Search Unity

Resolved IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Jacktardean, May 3, 2023.

1. Jacktardean

Jacktardean

Hi,

I'm pretty new to this so you'll have to bare with

I'm trying to get my hotbar to update to show each line of my inventory when a key is pressed. The inventory is 36 slots with the hotbar being 12.

The hotbar item slot is updated to the item within the item slot which the index is increased by 12 for each refresh.

The actual functionality works I just get the above error along with it

Code (CSharp):
    1. public void ToggleHotbar()
    2.     {
    3.         for (int i = 0; i < itemSlots.Length; i++)
    4.         {
    5.             if (itemSlots[i] != null && increaseHotbar <=24)
    6.             {
    7.                 HotBarSlot[i].Item = itemSlots[i+ increaseHotbar].Item;
    8.             }
    9.             else
    10.             {
    11.                 increaseHotbar = 0;
    12.                 HotBarSlot[i].Item = itemSlots[i + increaseHotbar].Item;
    13.             }
    14.         }
    15.     }

Code (CSharp):
    1.  private void Update()
    2.     {
    3.         for (int i = 0; i < toggleInventoryKeys.Length; i++)
    4.         {
    5.             if (Input.GetKeyDown(toggleInventoryKeys[I]))
    6.             {
    7.                 inventoryGameobject.SetActive(!inventoryGameobject.activeSelf);
    9.                 break;
    10.             }
    11.         }
    13.         for (int i = 0; i < toggleHotbarKeys.Length; i++)
    14.         {
    15.             if (Input.GetKeyDown(toggleHotbarKeys[I]))
    16.             {
    17.                 for (int b = 0; i < 3; b++)
    18.                 {
    19.                     inventory.increaseHotbar += 12;
    20.                     inventory.ToggleHotbar();
    21.                 }
    22.                 break;
    23.             }
    24.         }
    25.     }[/I][/I]