Search Unity

Official Increasing system requirements for Windows Editor in 2023.1 and dropping support for Windows 7

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by thomh_unity, Nov 1, 2022.

1. thomh_unity

thomh_unity

Unity Technologies

Increasing system requirements for Windows Editor in 2023.1 and dropping support for Windows 7

Hello Unity developers! My name is Thom and I’m a senior technical product manager at Unity. I take care of our Windows platform support.

With Unity 2023.1, we are adjusting our minimum system requirements for our Windows Editor.

What does this mean for me?

We are increasing the minimum supported Windows version to Windows 10 Version 1909 (build 18363). As a result, this version of Unity will no longer work on computers which use Windows 7 and older Windows 10 releases. This adjustment has been long coming as it is the first minimum system requirements increase since Unity 5.3 when we dropped support for Windows XP 7 years ago.

Why is Unity making this change?

You may be wondering, why are we doing this now? The short answer: the number of developers using Windows 7 is extremely low, the cost of maintaining the platform is relatively high, and we want to make sure we’re focusing our efforts to deliver the biggest impact for our users.

Windows 7 hasn’t received security fixes from Microsoft since 2020. The number of developers using the Unity Editor on Windows 7 has been rapidly declining over the last few years and now consists of less than 1% of all users using Unity (and continues to fall every month). Windows 10 has evolved over the years and given its upgrade policy, our hardware stats show that very few developers are using older Windows 10 versions than Version 1909.