Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Inconsistent Line Spacing

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ChimboSlice, Feb 1, 2017.

1. ChimboSlice

ChimboSlice

Hello I am brand new to the unity engine. I was going through the beginner's tutorial, the one with the ball. After creating the script that makes the ball move around the plane I got this warning "There are inconsistent line endings in the 'Assets/Scripts/PlayerController.cs' script. Some are Mac OS X (UNIX) and some are Windows.
    This might lead to incorrect line numbers in stacktraces and compiler errors. Many text editors can fix this using Convert Line Endings menu commands.
    " Does anyone know how I can use the Convert Line Endings commands? If so where would I find these in order to use them?

Thanks in advance

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

That depends. What platform are you running on? What text editor(s) do you have on your system?

(And FYI, since we're on the subject of text editing, I do all of my Unity coding with Script Inspector 3, which is so much dramatically better than MonoDevelop that I couldn't bear to use the latter anymore. Totally worth every penny. Please check it out!)

Flipbookee likes this.
  3. Ryeath

Ryeath

ChimboSlice,

As Joe stated, it depends on the editor and platform you are using. My guess, if you are like me, you are using the Microsoft Visual Studio community version that downloads when you start using Unity, and you are on a Windows computer.