Search Unity

  1. We've closed the job boards. If you're looking for work, or looking to hire check out Unity Connect. You can see more information here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.3 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Inconsistent Documentation: AssetBundle and BuildPipeline.BuildAssetBundle

Discussion in 'Documentation' started by ricna-net, Sep 2, 2017.

  1. ricna-net

    ricna-net

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    I can't understand these documentations. Does not make sense!!!

    Someone to help me to understand this annoying:

    From the official documentation about Asset Bundles, we get the information to use the BuildPipeline.BuildAssetBundle
    https://docs.unity3d.com/2017.2/Documentation/ScriptReference/AssetBundle.html

    Here the screenshot from now (20107-09-02)

    [​IMG]
    So we should consider using the BuildPipeline.BuildAssetBundle, right? They are saying: Use it!

    Then we go to see the documentation about the BuildPipeline.BuildAssetBundle, to use as well...
    But, wait... Something strange here. The same method which they said to you use is OBSOLETE!?

    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/BuildPipeline.BuildAssetBundle.html


    [​IMG]

    Please, Unity... Fix this shame and tell us in details how to use the new method. At least remove this sentence:

    "AssetBundles let you stream additional assets via the WWW class and instantiate them at runtime. AssetBundles are created via BuildPipeline.BuildAssetBundle."

    It's not true or you are considering obsolete methods the best and the only choice? I'm confused...

    PS: The issue is the same since the Unity 5.5!
    https://docs.unity3d.com/550/Documentation/ScriptReference/BuildPipeline.BuildAssetBundle.html

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
  2. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,273
    I'm 99% sure that BuildAssetBundle is replaced by BuildAssetBundles (with an 's'). BuildAssetBundles can process a single bundle in it's list if needed. This is the second example on the BuildAssetBundles page. Thoughts?
     
  3. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    725
    It still says (& links to) the singular obsolete version!: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/AssetBundle.html
    :(
    But there is an example under BuildAssetBundles, though for jpgs in a bundle not prefabs for example : /
    Not sure why no function to do a single asset bundle anymore...