Search Unity

In need of Advices on some Design Principles

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by symorian, Jul 9, 2018.

1. symorian

symorian

Hi,

Currently I'm working on a project and I'm a newbie developer.
    Yet, I'm having hard times understanding some principles and mostly how they are applied in real-world examples.

1) I've heard a lot about Singleton patterns and also using them here and there in my current code. But, that "here and there" part is the question. I don't know if I'm using them properly as how they should be or abusing their usage.

Can someone please point me to some "useful, non-abstract" tutorials that explain in layman terms and gives examples of real world usage especially in Unity & game-making?

2) This quesiton is related to the above. When you use "Instance" keyword while building a Singleton or in any other manner in Unity/game developing, do you refer to "footprint allocated in memory" or literally a visual/script instance that lives on the Unity scene or both depending on the structure?

I'm asking this because, in some cases I get errors like where childCount is greater than zero however I can't seem to find the said instance. Or is this totally specific to <List> types where the list isn't cleared properly?

3) I've recently started to use DontDestoryOnLoad method. Are there any cons related to this? I mean does the memory get bloated in time if I use too many persistent objects? I guess, yes? When creating persistent objects, do you have some common practices? i.e. most people I see are using this approach on GameManager. Is it also efficient to apply this for i.e. a player object or HUD? Which is harder to maintain? Destroying and instantiating objects frequently or making them live through the lifetime of application?