Search Unity

Bug IN-14456: Exceptions after upgrading Input System to 1.4.2

Discussion in 'Input System' started by Peter77, Aug 18, 2022.

  1. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,619
    EDIT: Submitted bug-report IN-14456

    Unity 2019.4.20f1, Android, Input System 1.4.2

    I upgraded the Input System package from 1.3.0 to 1.4.2 and now get the following exceptions every time I stop play mode. According to the stacktrace, it's all coming from the Input System itself and not from user scripts.

    How can I fix it?

    upload_2022-8-18_7-1-57.png

    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException while resolving binding 'Move:<Gamepad>/leftStick[;Gamepad]' in action map 'InputActions (UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionAsset):Player'
    2. UnityEngine.InputSystem.PlayerInput:OnDisable() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Plugins/PlayerInput/PlayerInput.cs:1735)
    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    2. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputBindingResolver.InstantiateWithParameters[TType] (UnityEngine.InputSystem.Utilities.TypeTable registrations, System.String namesAndParameters, TType[]& array, System.Int32& count, UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionMap actionMap, UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputBinding& binding) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputBindingResolver.cs:638)
    3. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputBindingResolver.AddActionMap (UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionMap actionMap) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputBindingResolver.cs:304)
    4. UnityEngine.InputSystem.PlayerInput:OnDisable() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Plugins/PlayerInput/PlayerInput.cs:1735)
    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    2. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputBindingResolver.InstantiateWithParameters[TType] (UnityEngine.InputSystem.Utilities.TypeTable registrations, System.String namesAndParameters, TType[]& array, System.Int32& count, UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionMap actionMap, UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputBinding& binding) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputBindingResolver.cs:638)
    3. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputBindingResolver.AddActionMap (UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionMap actionMap) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputBindingResolver.cs:592)
    4. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionMap.ResolveBindings () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputActionMap.cs:1352)
    5. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionMap.ResolveBindingsIfNecessary () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputActionMap.cs:1217)
    6. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionState.DeferredResolutionOfBindings () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputActionState.cs:4449)
    7. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionRebindingExtensions+DeferBindingResolutionWrapper.Dispose () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputActionRebindingExtensions.cs:2807)
    8. UnityEngine.InputSystem.PlayerInput.OnDisable () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Plugins/PlayerInput/PlayerInput.cs:1735)
    Code (CSharp):
    1. ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.
    2. Parameter name: source
    3. System.Linq.Enumerable.Contains[TSource] (System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable`1[T] source, TSource value, System.Collections.Generic.IEqualityComparer`1[T] comparer) (at <351e49e2a5bf4fd6beabb458ce2255f3>:0)
    4. System.Linq.Enumerable.Contains[TSource] (System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable`1[T] source, TSource value) (at <351e49e2a5bf4fd6beabb458ce2255f3>:0)
    5. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionState.FetchActionState (UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputAction action) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputActionState.cs:887)
    6. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputAction.get_currentState () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputAction.cs:1492)
    7. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputAction.get_phase () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputAction.cs:508)
    8. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputAction.get_enabled () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputAction.cs:533)
    9. UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputAction.Disable () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Actions/InputAction.cs:887)
    10. UnityEngine.InputSystem.UI.InputSystemUIInputModule.DisableInputAction (UnityEngine.InputSystem.InputActionReference inputActionReference) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Plugins/UI/InputSystemUIInputModule.cs:1499)
    11. UnityEngine.InputSystem.UI.InputSystemUIInputModule.DisableAllActions () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Plugins/UI/InputSystemUIInputModule.cs:1453)
    12. UnityEngine.InputSystem.UI.InputSystemUIInputModule.OnDisable () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.inputsystem@1.4.1/InputSystem/Plugins/UI/InputSystemUIInputModule.cs:1404)
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2022
    Roman-Ilyin likes this.
  2. HunterAhlquist

    HunterAhlquist

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    132
    I'm getting the same errors except the last one on my project. Started happening when I upgraded to 2020.3.38 from 2020.3.37, and only when I exit play mode. My input system is on 1.4.2.
    I think this might be a bug.
     
    GamDevPro likes this.
  3. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,619
    HunterAhlquist likes this.
  4. HunterAhlquist

    HunterAhlquist

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    132
    Downgrading to 1.3.0 of the input system seems to be the work around for the time being
     
  5. Loofou

    Loofou

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Yes, same issue here. Downgrading resolves the issues as well. If any more data is required to solve the issue, please let me know and I will provide what I have in addition to Peter77's report.
     
  6. NorthOfEarth

    NorthOfEarth

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    How do you downgrade a package?
     
  7. HunterAhlquist

    HunterAhlquist

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    132
    In the package manager, click the foldout arrow next to "Input System" and click on "See other versions" 1.3.0 should me in the extended list of versions.
    upload_2022-8-23_17-32-26.png
     
  8. NorthOfEarth

    NorthOfEarth

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    That button is absent in 2021.3.8f1. Apparently they did this to "ensure stability" or some crap. What is happening to Unity? I haven't had this many problems in ten years.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2022
    rubendariohh likes this.
  9. HunterAhlquist

    HunterAhlquist

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    132
    Damn, that's strange, I'm on 2020.3. Guess I won't be updating to 2021 any time soon if that's true
     
  10. HunterAhlquist

    HunterAhlquist

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    132
    Completely nonsensical thought process for this change (imo) ESPECIALLY with this Input System 1.4.1/1.4.2 regression fiasco. I hope they revert this decision.
    upload_2022-8-23_17-41-2.png
     
    forestrf likes this.
  11. NorthOfEarth

    NorthOfEarth

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Ah ha! I edited manifest.json and changed "com.unity.inputsystem": "1.4.2" to "com.unity.inputsystem": "1.3.0".

    It works flawlessly now.
     
    Mikura_Shi and HunterAhlquist like this.
  12. ComboPlz

    ComboPlz

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    How do you do that loool, I'm stuck on the same problem
     
  13. NorthOfEarth

    NorthOfEarth

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Inside the Project Folder/Packages/manifest.json
    Just edit with Notepad.
     
    ComboPlz likes this.
  14. perridan

    perridan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    my character moves alone with imput system 1.4.2 if you use the keyboard it seems that when I release the WASD or arrow keys don't execute the cancel phase
     
  15. HunterAhlquist

    HunterAhlquist

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    132
    Check the latest update thread for the Input System a lot of other people are saying the same thing
     
  16. ComboPlz

    ComboPlz

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks
     
  17. p55d2k

    p55d2k

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2022
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks
     
  18. Roman-Ilyin

    Roman-Ilyin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    29
    Can you tell me if there is a chance that this bug will be fixed?
    Stable reproduces in version 1.4.3.
     
    honzakusy likes this.
  19. gg_michael

    gg_michael

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    73
    Having this issue as well. Exact same series of errors. Would be nice to hear if it's being addressed.
     
    honzakusy likes this.
  20. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,619
    InputSystem 1.4.4 does not seem to throw these errors anymore.
     
    HunterAhlquist likes this.
  21. HunterAhlquist

    HunterAhlquist

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    132
    Yup, all good for me too! I previously had issues with wasd movement input failing to register sometimes, no errors. Works every time now.