Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Improving Path Variety/Randomness

Discussion in 'Navigation' started by Morgenstern_1, Dec 19, 2016.

1. Morgenstern_1

Morgenstern_1

Hi guys,

I'm looking for a little advice as I'm quite new to building believable AI. I've got a bunch of bots up and running using NavMeshAgent and they're working well, BUT because their is always a "best" path from one location to another I find that if they wind up going to the same place at the same time they all wind up following each other in a little conga line. This really makes them stand out as being not human players.

There are no teams in the game I'm building, each bot is acting as an individual, so I don't need them to behave as though they were a squad. All I want is for 2+ bots walking down a corridor to spread out a little.

Any advice on how to tackle this problem would be appreciated.

2. Jos-Yule

Jos-Yule

Local object avoidance can sometimes help a bit with this. As can adding different cost areas. You can also, if you know before hand the navMesh "look" (which you will since it is baked) do some manual offsetting from the waypoint/corner positions. This can be manual, like, if Bot is going to position X, add Y vector to that position, so it has a bit of an offset. You could also add in "waypoints" which define the offsets, rather then using something random like position in unit circle or whatever.

3. Morgenstern_1

Morgenstern_1

Thanks for the ideas!

I quite like the idea of just offsetting the points on their path a little, perhaps pushing them away from the nearest wall by a small, random amount would help. The end targets do differ so I'm not as worried about them as the points on their paths in between.

4. Morgenstern_1

Morgenstern_1

5. Jos-Yule

Jos-Yule