Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Improve floor appearance

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by shuskry, Mar 5, 2022.

1. shuskry

shuskry

Hi everybody :)

I'm trying to do a Top down game in a toon style , but I can't see if I need to improve the graphics of my ground.
    It's just a colored plane , but for a toon game, I don't know if it's "ok"

I'm not good at graphics and I can't realize if my simple ground is "enought" , or if I need to improve it and how :/

Here a Screenshot :

(I re-post actual image because old screenshot was invalid)

If someone have some advice about it I'll really appreciate :D !

Have a good day !

Last edited: May 12, 2022
  2. carking1996

carking1996

Look at the shadows on trees and bushes. Do a similar effect on the grass all around, a few larger splotches of lighter and darker grass areas.

shuskry likes this.
  3. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

You could paint a mask around borders, like next to the river, maybe if you have some hills or large rocks or any sort of feature you can mask a border around it. Then use a noise pattern to break up the edge of those mask so it looks natural. You can have a complimentary color there like a brown in similar pallete.

Could also do some criss-cross trails this way too, or little streams. People like little streams. Jump over them. It's just cute, especially when you are a fat little cat jumping over streams.

Some little obstacles that are easy to add could be just turning some trees over on their side, as if they've fallen over. Then if player has to walk around them time to time, it adds a tiny little interest.