Search Unity

Importing UserSettingsProvider.cs on project startup for ~40sec

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Deadcow_, Feb 11, 2020.

  1. Deadcow_

    Deadcow_

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Posts:
    128
    Every time I open my project I see "resolving packages" pops up for a second and then "Importing UserSettingsProvider.cs" progress bar appears for about 30-40 seconds. Maybe there is something wrong with my packages setup or something? Do anyone experiencing same thing?

    I am using Unity 2019.3.0f6

    2020-02-11_12-39-30.png

    My packages manifest:

    {
    "dependencies": {
    "com.unity.2d.sprite": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.2d.tilemap": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.assetbundlebrowser": "1.7.0",
    "com.unity.cinemachine": "2.5.0",
    "com.unity.editorcoroutines": "0.1.0-preview.1",
    "com.unity.ide.rider": "1.1.4",
    "com.unity.ide.visualstudio": "1.0.11",
    "com.unity.inputsystem": "1.0.0-preview.4",
    "com.unity.memoryprofiler": "0.2.0-preview.1",
    "com.unity.performance.profile-analyzer": "0.5.0-preview.1",
    "com.unity.polybrush": "1.0.1",
    "com.unity.probuilder": "4.2.3",
    "com.unity.progrids": "3.0.3-preview.4",
    "com.unity.quicksearch": "1.5.0",
    "com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition": "7.1.8",
    "com.unity.test-framework": "1.1.11",
    "com.unity.test-framework.performance": "2.0.6-preview",
    "com.unity.textmeshpro": "2.0.1",
    "com.unity.timeline": "1.2.10",
    "com.unity.ugui": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.ui.builder": "0.10.0-preview",
    "com.unity.visualeffectgraph": "7.1.8",
    "com.unity.modules.ai": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.androidjni": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.animation": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.assetbundle": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.audio": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.cloth": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.director": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.imageconversion": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.imgui": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.jsonserialize": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.particlesystem": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.physics": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.physics2d": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.screencapture": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.terrain": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.terrainphysics": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.tilemap": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.ui": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.uielements": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.umbra": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unityanalytics": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequest": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestassetbundle": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestaudio": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequesttexture": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestwww": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.vehicles": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.video": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.vr": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.wind": "1.0.0",
    "com.unity.modules.xr": "1.0.0"
    }
    }
     
    joaoborks and MODev like this.
  2. powerproc_chris

    powerproc_chris

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    I'm seeing the same thing.
     
  3. Omlo

    Omlo

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue here. Unity 2019.3.1f1.
     
  4. reharrison_bbi

    reharrison_bbi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Bumping this thread -- same issue. Unity 2019.3.0f6.
     
  5. StarFluke

    StarFluke

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    Same problem here. I have experienced this for a number of versions of 2019.3 including 2019.3.0f6 and 2019.3.1f1.
    It is very strange that this is being called after I have removed the package "com.unity.settings-manager": "1.0.1".
    Why is com.unity.settings-manager\Editor\UserSettingsProvider.cs being imported when I have explicitly told the Package Manager to REMOVE the settings manager? (And it no longer is listed in my manifest.json file?)
     
  6. Deadcow_

    Deadcow_

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Posts:
    128
    I believe SettingsManager is internally referenced by some of the packages. For me it's ProBuilder.
    SettingsManager is not listed in my manifest.json and is not in "In Project" packages in Package Manager, but I noticed that when I browse "All packages" it appears to be installed
     
  7. joaoborks

    joaoborks

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    I've got the same on my setup with Unity 2019.3.1f1. Very disappointing loading times
     
  8. SteveSwink

    SteveSwink

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Posts:
    22
    Also seeing this with Unity 2019.3.1f1. Anybody from unity seen this?
     
  9. DannyCheng

    DannyCheng

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Posts:
    30
    +1 on 2019.3.3f1

    Takes about 5mins to load my project. Most times I kill the process because it feels like it's crashed.
     
  10. djsell

    djsell

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Posts:
    77
    Happening on 2019.3.7f1 on Windows.
     
  11. joaoborks

    joaoborks

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    I've tested a few different scenarios, and I got better loading times on 2019.3.9f1 while using Pro Builder 4.2.3 but with an updated Settings Manager 1.0.2 on an empty project. Try on your setups, it might help.
     
  12. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    576
    Same with me (5-10min), except I let it sit and it moves. Any idea how to fix this?
     
  13. joaoborks

    joaoborks

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    Anyone who has this issue repeatedly should try to reproduce on an empty project, or to trace what's really causing the issue. If you succeed, submit a report to Unity, it's the quickest way we have to fix it. I tried to reproduce the issue with an empty project, and the loading time wasn't bad enough to be reported as a bug, on my opinion. The issue on my project seemed to go away with the settings I mentioned above.
     
  14. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    576
    Yes it does not happen on an empty project, but I am (I am sure others are too) trying to figure out how to fix this in an existing project. My project was converted from 2018.x.x. It is clearly getting stuck on one file. Is this something we can safely delete and let it rebuild?
     
  15. joaoborks

    joaoborks

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    @FlightOfOne I guess you're probably using Pro Builder on your project, I can't think of anything else than upgrading the Settings Manager package to the latest version (and/or the Pro Builder as well). Since it is a Pro Builder's dependency, and clearly the cause of the issue, I'm afraid it cannot be removed. In any other case, if you don't need nor are using Settings Manager, and it's not a dependency of any other package, it could be safely removed.

    Perhaps we could send a small project to bug report team to at least have someone looking at it. I don't know.
     
    eggor83 likes this.
  16. FlightOfOne

    FlightOfOne

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Posts:
    576
    I see, I will try removing pro builder, I have one water plane I created with it but I can create it again. Thanks!
     
  17. therewillbebrad

    therewillbebrad

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Posts:
    150
    Just tried updating some xr settings and am getting this constant import nonsense. Am gonna try to switch out the settings from a backup since I can't even do anything in my project without the constant reimport.
     
  18. therewillbebrad

    therewillbebrad

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Posts:
    150
    Didn't work I can see it in the library packagecache importing the same folder over and over again. Is there anyway to acess the package manager without going in to unity so i can disable this crap.
     
  19. therewillbebrad

    therewillbebrad

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Posts:
    150
    Replaced the manifest.jason in the packages folder and that got me out of the infinite import loop if someone finds this in the future. Not a fix but at least this might help someone not waste an hour like I did.
     
    CRYWOLF86 and FlightOfOne like this.
  20. MrIconic

    MrIconic

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Posts:
    235
    In my case I think something with the scene was bugging out loading but I did switch to Asset Pipeline 1 and that seemed to reduce some stuff too.
     
    joaoborks likes this.
  21. eggor83

    eggor83

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Removing Pro Builder does the job. Thanks!
     
  22. _Auron_

    _Auron_

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    This hangs for a while every time I open my project that I just migrated to Unity 2019.4.0f1 LTS. I did not have this problem on 2019.1.14f1

    Edit: Updating the Settings Manager package from 1.0.0 to 1.0.2 seems to have fixed the problem.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2020
  23. Fira-Soft

    Fira-Soft

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    How do I do upgrade the Settings Manager package?
     
  24. joaoborks

    joaoborks

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    You can update it on the Package Manager Window (Window>Package Manager). Make sure you have "All Packages" selected.
     
    TheSecretGordon likes this.
unityunity