Search Unity

Importing Terrains

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by Artifact-Games, Jun 18, 2010.

1. Artifact-Games

Artifact-Games

I see that Unity can only import greyscale heightmaps (i.e., .RAW files.) By the way I'm pretty new to how terrains work.

"Note that the Unity Heightmap importer can only import grayscale raw files. Thus you can't create a raw heightmap using RGB channels, you must use grayscale."

http://unity3d.com/support/documentation/Components/terrain-Height.html

My questions is can Unity import realistic high-resolution terrains with texture maps from Carrara or Bryce? Will the new Unity 3.0 version be able to do this? If anyone knows please tell. Or if I have no clue of what I'm talking about, please explain that too!

Here's an example of what I would like to import into Unity (from a Carrara .RAW):

High-Resolution Terrain (4096 x 4096)with Snow Texture Map (4096 x 4096)

Attached Files:

2. duke

duke

You can certainly do what you're asking, but i'm curious about the color map - what are you expecting at eye-level? Using a 4096 texture alone will make for one hell of a blurry ground texture when you go further than a birds-eye view.

3. Artifact-Games

Artifact-Games

hi duke,

I'm seeing in another thread that the .RAW file needs to be in a multiple of 2 plus 1 (4097 x 4097 instead of 4096 x 4096). So how can I do what I'm asking? I'm not sure if it would work to just import the .RAW file the way it comes from the DAZ3D model community without some tweaks in another program. Also I'm not really sure why the texture map would be a blurry ground texture at eye-level, can you please elaborate on that a little bit further? Thanks!

4. antenna-tree

antenna-tree

The 4097 RAw file will work for the Terrain heightmap if it's grayscale, but for the diffuse texturing of the terrain a single texture, even one at 4096, is going to get blurry close up.

5. bigkahuna

bigkahuna