Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback Importing LOD meshes

Discussion in '2021.2 Beta' started by Peter77, May 1, 2021.

  1. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,609
    From the 2021.2.0a15 changelog:
    • Editor: Allow importing LOD meshes with indices that have preceding zeroes. Specifying a range, e.g. LOD1-3 will assign the mesh to all LOD levels in the range.
    https://unity3d.com/unity/alpha/2021.2.0a15

    I always wondered, why do you support LOD 0, LOD 1 and LOD 2 only? Why not allowing us to provide more than 3 LOD's?
     
    FernandoMK likes this.
  2. FernandoMK

    FernandoMK

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Posts:
    178
    In my experience, using more than 3 LODs would be of little benefit

    This goes well against the idea of optimizing a game, after all, the more LODs you use, it means that you are including more and more models that will only be consuming more storage space and that will only be visible at certain distances...

    In the worst case scenario, you only need a highpoly model when the camera is close to the object, a second model with a little less detail when it is a little more distant, maybe a low poly for long distances, or you can jump straight to an imposter which will save a lot of hardware resources.:)
     
    Peter77 likes this.
  3. jRocket

    jRocket

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    700
    More LODs are very useful for characters, where you can't use impostors and want to go smoothly from high poly cinematic to a few hundred triangles without popping. Skinned models are model expensive due to the skinning, so any savings is helpful there. Look at any AAA game and see how many LODs they have for characters.
     
    Peter77 likes this.
  4. TheSniperFan

    TheSniperFan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Posts:
    712
    More LODs will eventually also cost GPU performance, because you'll reduce how many meshes can be rendered together using GPU instancing.
     
  5. Aras

    Aras

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    Really? From what I can tell, 8 LOD levels are supported. Screenshot 2021-05-03 at 13.38.17.png
     
    FernandoMK, Peter77 and LeonhardP like this.
  6. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,609
    You're right, it does work.
     
    Prodigga likes this.