Search Unity

Imported Blender animation resulting in distorted mesh

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by lmeeken, Aug 8, 2017.

1. lmeeken

lmeeken

Hi. This is my very first time using Blender and Unity together - I ran through the Rollaball and Survival Shooter tuts, and wanted to see if I could build on those bases to import my own models and animations.

Overall, the process has been relatively painless. Though I have noticed one issue. When importing a walking animation from Blender, the animation of the figure is distorted (in a mildly hilarious way....)

As you can see, the original Blender animation is a fairly basic walk cycle. The imported animation in Unity has a..pronounced pelvic thrust.

What could be causing this? If you look at my skeleton, you'll note I have bones for the limbs, but not the torso. Is this causing the torso to go bananas in Unity, whereas Blender just kind of leaves those polys alone?

Or is there some other issue I'm overlooking when it comes to importing Blender animations?

I simply copied the Blender file into the assets folder from my project - no FBX or OBJ exports or anything like that.

2. Project-Mysh

Project-Mysh

Can you show the painted vertex wheight of the bones?
    And also, can you show your quality settings?
    For me, it seems that u need the torso extra bones that you avoided to prevent unity auto weight them with the shoulder bones.
    Sry for the bad english....

3. kburkhart84

kburkhart84

Project-Mysh has it right. I'm understanding that for usage in Unity, all verts MUST be weighted to a bone. This doesn't mean that the bone has to actually move though. You should have a primary parent bone, that all bones are children of. This bone wouldn't move, but could serve to move the whole model all at once if you needed to. Then, if there is seriously zero torso movement, then you should have those verts weighted to that parent bone.

4. GeekGonzo

GeekGonzo