Search Unity

Import new Package Manager UI and .unitypackage

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by JPFerreiraVB, Jan 30, 2019.

1. JPFerreiraVB

JPFerreiraVB

Hi folks.

So bear with me while i explain the problem. Keep in mind i'm a newbie when it comes to Packages, we all gotta learn new things. :)

The context: I'm on a studio divided in two teams. One that creates the Core of the project (scripts/base models/base maps/etc). Another that imports that core, and extends the project (new images/ new maps/ new models/ etc).

The problem: The core team wants a way to develop the core part of the project, and make available new versions for the project teams to update on their project and make use of.

The current "solution" for creating a .unitypackage: What i was able to implement was: I create a git repository with the core project. A jenkins job that create and version the .unitypackage and export it to nexus repository.

The current "solution to import the .unitypackage: Here i have two solutions: Well the first one is manually. Download from nexus and import it to the project.
    The second was a bit more advanced. I modify the manifest.json file of the project, and added the line:

"com.company.package": "file:C:/_Packages/CorePackage"
    , that points to the downloaded .unitypackage.

Now the problems i'm facing and need some guidance on.

The .unitypackage: When modifying the manifest.json of the project, i'm able to import the .unitypackage, but, only "zipped", shouldn't it automatically extract the content? (I need to manualy, select import package -> costum package -> only here the package is extracted.

How to properly use Package Manager: From what i could tell the ideia is that this line

"com.company.package": "file:C:/_Packages/CorePackage"
    , points to a git repository where the package is.

Question1: does the package needs to be uniziped? Can or Can not be in the .unitypackage format