Search Unity

Import from blender faulty

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by nerdnils, Dec 7, 2017.

1. nerdnils

nerdnils

Hi there,

I am new to unity and to create a game i started by importing some models into unity. I was looking at the first and there are some very bad issues. First, see some pictures. My tipper in blender:

My tipper in unity:

This has multiple issues:
    1. The whole mounting is gone and not there at all
    2. The proportions are wrong!
    3. The wheels are one little box each only
    4. I can only give one material to the whole object while the original has three materials.

How to solve these 4 issues? At least the first three look like a bug in unity to me. Or what could I have done wrong by copying the file in the directory of the project and pasting the object into the scene?

Greetings

2. mariusz

mariusz

Looks like inverted normals, and not applied scale in blender.
    Materials shoud be different if there are separate meshes in unity.

3. nerdnils

nerdnils

I already recalculated normals but I'll have another look at it to verify. So for making different materials in unity everything has to be a separate object? Und to make it move the same way it has to be parented or what would be the unity way here?

This explains the wrong proportions and the thing with the materials. But why are there parts missing?

4. mariusz

mariusz

There's no need for separate objects - if you assign different materials for different faces in blender, you should get them in unity.
    blender_box.png

unity_box.png

And thats why I said about normals - maybe parts are not missing but only invisible because normals are inverted ?
    Yes objects can be parented (and animated) in Unity to move one with another. Or can be animated in blender using bones - but because of this rotating bones in X when importing I prefer to animate such objects directly in Unity

5. nerdnils

nerdnils