Search Unity

Import Cloth from Blender and prevent model go through

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by Benmaster, Sep 22, 2019.

1. Benmaster

Benmaster

Hi, Im new in the "modeling" part of the Unity and I have an issue that dont find how to fix.

Im using mixamo animations and mixamo model for base model and animations, and is working correctly.
    Now I want to add some "gear" to my characters, but I have issues importing correctly.

I make a "cloth" in the model Im using in unity using the cloth seewing feature of Blender 2.8, I left some space between the model and the cloth.
    Then when the cloth physics are in a nice position, I make it real pressing "apply" in the cloth modifier.
    Then in object mode, I select the cloth -> shift+press the bones, and then Control+P to create the vertex groups using the option "automatic Weights".

The result is like this:

My issues start now.. if I try to animate this model, for example moving the arm and forearm, the mesh deforms correctly, but in some points the character model go through the cloth.
    I try to add more space between the model and the cloth, or edit the weight paint, but I alwais face similar issues.

I try to import into Unity and using an script I found in the forum (https://gist.github.com/TwoTenPvP/29684118fb37d1de946aee03307d80c1) add the cloth to the player prefab, to attach and see moving, and is working (more or less, I have issues with the back part of the cloth because appear not render correctly), but I face the same issues that have in blender, the blue model go trought the cloth in some movements of the arm...

Im missing something with the cloth? Maybe I need to add some kind of "mask" or make the cloth more "fat" to prevent the player model travel trought it?

Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
  2. Benmaster

Benmaster