Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Import Animated Sprites

Discussion in '2D' started by abstractfragment, Jan 16, 2014.

1. abstractfragment

abstractfragment

Hey there, I like to do my animation in flash. Is it possible for me to import sprites from flash into Unity? I'm new to this whole Unity thing (working on my first game). Can Unity use .avi's or something like that as sprites?

2. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

Absolutely! I/we typically do all of our animation in Flash. There are several ways, all with upsides and downsides. There isn't one single solution that fits all scenarios, but there is usually one that fits a specific scenario (or can be tweaked to do so).

Can you explain (or provide an example) of how your animations are set up in Flash? Are they single images or animated parts? Are they already symbols or on the primary timeline? Do they have nested movieclips? Is the art vector or bitmap?

Let me know the details of what you have and I can point you to one or more useful solutions..

3. abstractfragment

abstractfragment

No MovieClips, some of them are primary timeline animation and some of them are nested symbols. They are technically vector within Flash but I used the Pixel Animation plug-in.

4. abstractfragment

abstractfragment

I hate to bump but this is the one thing I'm stuck on with making my game here/

5. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla

I would start with LWF. http://gree.github.io/lwf/
    It is very solid, and will handle nested movie clips. Generally it has worked pretty well. I can't remember if converted the vectors. If it doesn't, you can run through pretty quicly (or create a jsfl) to convert them to bitmaps. The usage takes a few steps, but as long as you follow the steps in the demo it's not to difficult.