Search Unity

Implicit conversion between Vector2 and Vector3?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by tigger, Jan 30, 2019.

1. tigger

tigger

I'm somewhat new to Unity and was bitten by a feature this morning: Implicit conversion between Vector3 and Vector2.

Why is this done / good? (instead of the compiler complaining about mismatched types)

2. lordofduct

lordofduct

I can't say why Unity would do it as such, they decided to, and it's that.

I would guess they did because Unity when originally designed was intended to be "novice-friendly" so it just implicitly does a lot of things (just wait for the UnityEngine.Object == null operator overload, it's so much fun if you attempt polymorphism).

Big thing is that early on Unity had UnityScript which is javascript like. And that can hint at the mentality... javascript is a language that just does things and doesn't care. Well there are a lot of C# stuff they wrote that does similar stuff... namely a lot of implicit conversions and the sort.

As someone who likes rigid statically typed languages... it's REALLY annoying.

But... that's Unity.

:shrug:

Hurri04, Ryiah, orionsyndrome and 2 others like this.
  3. tigger

tigger

LOL. The other major headache I ran into this morning was my null tests not working and the Debugger showing values of "null" when there clearly was an object there. Right or wrong, I removed " : Object" from my class definition (no longer inheriting from Object) and the problem went away.

4. Owen-Reynolds

Owen-Reynolds

I can see why "Vector3 x = someVector2;" is an obvious thing to add, but I also get bitten by it often.

Unity expects you to do 2D using the "real" xy plane. You can mix in 3D, with the 2D acting as if it's written on a blackboard at z=0;. If you do it that way, the implicit cast is pretty nice.