Search Unity

Feedback Implement option to turn off auto-updates

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Peter77, Mar 24, 2022.

1. Peter77

Peter77

QA Jesus

The Hub downloads and installs updates automatically:
    upload_2022-3-24_7-21-43.png

Can you please add an option to toggle this behavior? I would like to disable auto-updates and decide when to update.

Not being able to turn off auto-updates has a bitter taste after the node-ipc incident which is the main reason why I want this toggle to happen. I assume chances are reduced to be affected by such incidents when turning auto-updates off.

Zaicheg, fym35, NotaNaN and 6 others like this.
  2. SOICGeek

SOICGeek

Upvote +949,869,384,570,293,847,590,874.

I would like to relate a similar story to demonstrate why forced updates and "always update" are such terrible, terrible ideas.

I used to be a network administrator in charge of an email server. One day I noticed that SSL was out of date on my email server. Wanting to be responsible and effective, I decided to follow the prevalent "always update" advice we keep getting. So I downloaded the latest version of SSL (version 1.0.1 at the time). I unpacked it, got the command typed in to start the install, and, I kid you not, I had my finger over the enter key, when something stopped me. I struggled with it for a few minutes, unsure of whether I should continue. In the end, I decided to give it a week or so, then do the install.

Three days later, Heartbleed was discovered. I had the last version that was not affected by it (version 1.0). Talk about dodging a bullet. I knew some admins who had to perform reinstalls on entire server farms, and had to have all users change their passwords.

TL;DR on Heartbleed: The exploit lets a malicious user slowly, over time, use the heartbeat feature of SSL to read the entire contents of the server's memory - including usernames, passwords, and whatever else might be in memory. Ouch.