Search Unity

iMac 2019 for game development

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sarah-Lupo, Jan 24, 2020.

1. Sarah-Lupo

Sarah-Lupo

Hello. I'm a freelance narrative designer and I'm about to buy the 2019 iMac (not the Pro version, way over the budget). I spend most of the time writing, but I'd like a machine that can handle a full game dev process: Unity, Premier, Photoshop, C4D, etc.

Buuuut... my upper budget is 3500 $/€ and I need to make some choices.

Fixed components:
    Retina 5K display 27" 5120x2880
    32 GB DDR4 2666MHz (I will upgrade it buy myself from the original 8GB configuration)
    512 SSD

Doubts: I can only upgrade the CPU or the GPU (or neither, if the default configuration is fine)
    Default CPU: 3.7GHz 6‑core Intel Core i5
    Configurable: 3.6GHz 8-core Intel Core i9 > + 400$ / 480€

Default GPU: Radeon Pro 580X 8GB GDDR5
    Configurable: Radeon Pro Vega 48 8GB HBM2 > + 450$ / 520€

What is your advice? Do I need the i9 CPU? Or should I prioritise the Vega 48 GPU? Or maybe the default configuration is fine?

This is the iMac 2019 27" page on Apple's website, if you want to know more.

Thank you guys :)

2. Murgilod

Murgilod

I imagine you're doing iOS dev? If that's your budget, you'd be better off spending $2500 on a decent PC build and then using the latter $1000 for mobile deployment hardware.

3. Sarah-Lupo

Sarah-Lupo

Nope, PC/Mac development only. And buying a PC is not an option ^_^"

4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Note that Apple has made all their iMac models notoriously difficult to upgrade on your own for many years now, or in some cases includes risk of electric shock since they like to use entirely open power supplies in these machines lately (not even enclosed in their own metal box like every other computer). Verify the upgrade instructions for this specific iMac model before you purchase with the intent of upgrading it.