Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

I'm unable to paint tiles

Discussion in '2D' started by FriendlyRussian666, Apr 4, 2020.

1. FriendlyRussian666

FriendlyRussian666

It's my first time doing anything in Unity. I'm trying to paint isometric tiles, but it's not working. I followed this tutorial ->
    and at this timestamp, he simply clicks on the Tile Palette selecting the tile he wants to use and then he is able to paint over the grid. When I do that, nothing happens, nothing gets painted.

I've been trying to do this for the past hour, closing and opening again, doing it all over again multiple times, making sure I follow each step and I just can't get it to work. I'm really frustrated.

Here's how I have it set up -> https://imgur.com/Gpi9BC8

What am I missing?

2. Valjuin

Valjuin

The tutor goes through the Tile Palette window showing you what each tool does. You will note that he selects the Paintbrush Tool to paint tiles onto the grid in the Scene. Your image shows you have the Erase Tool selected in the Tile Palette.

3. FriendlyRussian666

FriendlyRussian666

Thank you for the reply. It shows the eraser indeed, but I tried with the brush tool. It simply doesn't paint. I tried different types of tiles from different packages also. Still doesn't work.

4. ChuanXin

ChuanXin

Unity Technologies

Based on your image of the Tile Palette, it seems that your Tiles are far larger than the Grid. You will need to pick the Tiles from the location they are on rather than based on the visual image of the Tile.

Ideally, you would have set up the Grid so that each cell matches a Tile as close as possible. You could do this by:

Jamisco likes this.
  5. TheAlmostGreat

TheAlmostGreat

Hey Everyone,