Search Unity

I'm still beginner level and would like to discuss the "How to" of my game project

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Null_DreiAcht, Sep 10, 2021.

1. Null_DreiAcht

Null_DreiAcht

Hi, I'm a 2nd year college student in the domain of electronics and I recently started to work on my 3rd year project. I want to make a Toy-to-life game in order to learn more about RFID technologies and other things.

I've started using Unity around 2-3 years ago, but I never went far with any projects and still consider myself a beginner.

As far as the RFID side goes, I'm currently looking into it, but what I want to discuss is how to manage the game character(s) and the summoning process.
    • The whole character summoning (RFID/NFC reading, etc.) would work asynchronously.
    • There's an empty player object, which got a playable character append to it when the tag is read
      • I think by doing so, everytime I swap between two characters, it shouldn't "reset" the player orientation (which direction they are facing). For example, I'm going north-east, my character HP hits 0, I change for a different character and he still face toward the north-east instead of another direction.
    • All characters are prefab with some sorts of "character manager" scripts that do the following:
      • By default, the stats of the prefabs are "0", but are overwrited with the values stored on the tag. Same goes for money and exp. The only exception is "Level" which is "1" by default.
      • The character abilities are booleans (Did the player unlocked the ability Yes (True) or No (False)), since a boolean value should take less place on the tag.
      • Character texture could also be manage through boolans or, else, maybe through an ID. It would allow to use the same prefab with a different color scheme. However, I don't think of doing the extra work to make variants of the same characters. Might do it if I have the time though.