Search Unity

I'm new to Linux

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Peromyscus, Feb 25, 2019.

1. Peromyscus

Peromyscus

Hi, I'm new to Linux and I am having a heck of a time trying to download the latest stable Unity for Linux. Can anyone tell how to download Unity for Ubuntu 16 like I'm a 5 year old?

2. JeffDUnity3D

JeffDUnity3D

3. Ryiah

Ryiah

I recommend becoming familiar with YouTube. It's an excellent resource for step-by-step instructions.

Last edited: Feb 25, 2019
    Antypodish and Joe-Censored like this.
  4. Peromyscus

Peromyscus

I checked YouTube first obviously, but I wasn't able to find anything that clearly explained it. I have never used Linux, so the only thing I've ever downloaded was Gimp by typing "sudo apt-get Gimp" in the terminal. I honestly don't even know if that was the right way to do that. I assume not. But, I do appreciate your time, Ryiah, although I didn't understand the video. Like I said, I'm completely new to Linux, so none of that made any sense to me. Anyway, thanks for tryin'. Cheers.

5. JeffDUnity3D

JeffDUnity3D

Posting in the correct forum, as mentioned, would help! The forum also tells how to download the Linux version.

6. Ryiah

Ryiah

Truthfully that's about the simplest tutorial I've seen. You download the application, you open a terminal (which you already know how to do as is evident by the fact you're using sudo and apt-get), and you enter the command they show in the video.

If that's too complex my recommendation is that you set aside a few weeks and go learn Linux. Ubuntu tries to make life easier for someone just getting started, but at the end of the day Linux is an OS made for computer enthusiasts. You will find it difficult to do much with it until you've at least learned the basics of working with it.

Last edited: Mar 1, 2019
    Joe-Censored and JeffDUnity3D like this.
  7. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored