Search Unity

I'm new to baked lighting but baking process is taking too long to learn anything.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by CloudyVR, Jul 13, 2017.

1. CloudyVR

CloudyVR

I have a simple scene that I was hoping to use to try to learn how to setup baked lightning.

My issue is when I make any change to lighting in my scene and hit bake I have to wait an hour to get any results back.

My scene is a Terrain and a simple building (stadium). I have one point light with a 100m radius.

I have reduced the Lightmap Size to 32.
    I have reduced Lightmap Resolution to 10.
    I have tried disabling that Enlighten option and currently only use Progressive (Preview).

No matter what I do it's slow (hours). and I haven't learned anything and am afraid to add any complexity to my scene in fear it will only contribute to making the process slower.

Often I see weird shadow lines or even no lighting at all and things appear black (or even all white I guess due to too much light?). I just can not figure out how to make baked lights look the same as my realtime lights.

Lamp set for bake mode, mesh is static (Strange lines appear, light is very bright).

The mesh created in blender

Lamp set to realtime mode, mesh is not static (No weird lines, much dimmer)

How do you learn baking lightmaps in Unity with such high demand for downtime? I thought starting with a simple scene was the key but now I'm not so sure.

Maybe my stadium is too large of scale? But the only part that is "Static" (the section where the bleachers would be) consists of roughly 30 faces which measures roughly W=200m H=35m L=375m.

I have tried segmenting it into individual meshes (planes) but that made the whole model look bad and blocky (I don't think it helped reduce the bake time by much either).

Is there anything I can adjust to make the development less painful (I am ok with overnighters for final bakes but really need a way to just see some (low res) results quickly)?

[EDIT]