Search Unity

I'm going to work on a project from Zenva.com this afternoon!

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by RichAllen2023, Jun 15, 2022.

1. RichAllen2023

RichAllen2023

A turn based RPG (I actually hate turn based combat but this looks simple enough for a complete newbie)

I downloaded the prefabs last week.

2. JeffDUnity3D

JeffDUnity3D

Did you have a question? How did the Unity book you ordered work for you? FYI you are not a newbie anymore, you joined here in 2016 and have almost 500 posts.

3. RichAllen2023

RichAllen2023

Technically I'm a Unity newbie as I haven't actually completed any projects yet.

4. Schneider21

Schneider21

I get the sense that you're stuck in that perpetual "newbie" state because you seem resistant to following through on things. Or even following up on advice/feedback offered when you request assistance.

Trying new things is fun. Starting new projects is fun. Developing a skill, resolving difficult issues, and seeing a project through to completion are more difficult and moment-to-moment are much less fun.

If you're really just messing with game development as a casual hobby -- something to tinker with to pass the hours of the day -- then that's fine. You can putz about and never get anything done and you're still succeeding at what you set out to do. But if you want to make a game, you'll have to make that transition in your brain that allows you to commit for a sufficient period of time.