Search Unity

I'm a programming noob, which of these two coding styles is best?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by SgtSargeMcFly, Sep 24, 2021.

1. SgtSargeMcFly

SgtSargeMcFly

The premise for my game is that it's a sidescroller where the spherical character can be controlled in two ways - statically, with the left and right arrows, which moves the character at a fixed rate with no acceleration. The other way is to spin the character, where a lot more physics like friction and momentum get applied. On the ground, spinning won't get you far because of the friction, but if you jump and build up spin speed in the air, you can get a burst of speed when you hit the ground and go faster than you could with static movement. I'd like the character to be able to act like a buzzsaw and adhere to walls and ceilings with enough spin, but I have no idea how to approach that so it's not featured here!

Here's my conundrum: I'm no good at programming, I came up with two drafts for the code to control this character on a simple, flat plane.

This is the first draft, where I wasn't worried about efficiency and just wanted to get the concept running so I could visualize it and see if it's fun.

Code (CSharp):
    1. //COUNTERCLOCKWISE
    2.         if (Input.GetKey(KeyCode.UpArrow))
    3.         {
    4.             if (GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>().IsTouching(ground)) //Set speed cap against ground
    5.             {
    6.                 if (spinAnim["spin"].speed < 0.3f)
    7.                 {
    8.                     spinAnim["spin"].speed += 0.05f;
    9.                 }
    10.             } else
    11.             {
    12.                 if (spinAnim["spin"].speed < 2.0f)
    13.                 {
    14.                     spinAnim["spin"].speed += 0.1f;
    15.                 }
    16.             }
    17.         }
    18.         else if (spinAnim["spin"].speed > 0.0f)
    19.         {
    20.             spinAnim["spin"].speed -= 0.1f;