Search Unity

I'm a bit lost.

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Juan, May 21, 2009.

1. Juan

Juan

Hi!
    I'm new to unity, at first i bough the indie version so i have a few questions about shaders.

I'm used to create my shaders in ShaderFX because i used to work with another engine, but now i'm trying to do some little games with Unity.

Can i use my ShaderFX shaders in Unity Indie?

and How can i do that? because i tried to modify a toon shader that comes with Unity but i cannot use it...of course maybe the modification is bad, because i don't know anything about programming shaders, i do everything with shaderfx.

Please some help is really apreciated, i'm a bit lost, i saw the documentation, but i don't have the things clear yet.

Thanks.

2. RHD

RHD

I'm with you here. I'm baffled too.

It doesn't help that it's not at all clear what shaders actually work in Indie. Not much as far as I can tell.

It would certainly help me if each page in the manual had a "Pro feature only" lable on it the way SketchUp does.

Also a Indie section in the forum would be great as it seems most people have the pro version and there is very little here for the poor Indie people.

3. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

I don't know what you mean...every standard shader works in Indie. Anything in "Pro standard assets" won't work in Indie (obviously), but everything else does. As far as I know, everything that the docs cover that is Pro-only is noted as such.

You'll find that the opposite is true. The thing is, Indie is a great value and there isn't actually a huge amount that Pro has that Indie doesn't. Since 99% of everything discussed here applies to both, I don't see that there's any point in an Indie section, or a Pro section for that matter.

--Eric

4. ToreTank

ToreTank

The only thing (rendering-wise) not available in pro is render to texture, which prevents you from doing shadow maps, post-effects and other stuff that might require that.