Search Unity

I'm a 3d artist, I have an 'idea' for a game and I'm keen to find people to collaborate with.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by oealles, Mar 9, 2019.

1. oealles

oealles

its a bit of a cliche for people to go on to a game dev forum and say they have 'an idea'.

I've been studying 3d since 2012, mostly making hard-surface props using Blender and Substance Designer/Painter, I've used Unity a bit to make scenes but as I'm not a programmer/coder I've always struggled with unity/unreal.

after doing 3d for the last few years I've come to realise the real magic in game dev is with the programming/coding.

unlike 3d artists, I've noticed there is a lack of idle programmers/developers online, it seems if you know how to code you always have a project or something to work on.

so I have an idea and (cliche as it sounds) its a good one, I don't want to blurt it out online and I would rather first find a forum where people who are keen to work on a collaborations could find each other and show off their talents etc.

so if anyone has a suggestion of a forum which I should check out please tell us.

2. Ryiah

Ryiah

Officially the only thing we have here for finding people to collaborate with is Unity Connect.

https://connect.unity.com/

Reddit and generic game development communities will be your best bet.

https://old.reddit.com/r/INAT/
    https://www.reddit.com/r/gameDevClassifieds

https://www.gamedev.net/forums/forum/29-hobby-project-classifieds/

Just be aware that while there are many people looking for team members to assist with their idea, the reality is there are very few people looking to join a team. Your idea has to be able to stand out among the crowd to have any real chance of attracting unpaid assistance. Like the following reddit thread mentions only about 5% of projects are worth looking into.

https://www.reddit.com/r/gamedev/comments/9ofmd3/is_anyone_having_having_success_with/

MadeFromPolygons and Meltdown like this.