Search Unity

IK require skeleton?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by MikeyJY, Feb 2, 2020.

1. MikeyJY

MikeyJY

I have an 3D Object representing a tool! This tool is used to mine! I created an animation of this pickaxe, but the pickaxe is going through the stone because it needs to complete the animation! I have no arms to my character only a pickaxe with one "bone". Can I use IK to make the animation to stop at the rock even if the object doesn't have skeleton?

2. Inxentas

Inxentas

Yes, but it will involve some coding. I am assing a "floating" tool in 1st person view here. I am just a novice so my advice isn't golden, okay? I would use a Raycast to determine the point of impact, and then calculate another point where my pickaxe should be at the end of it's animation cycle. I would then move the pickaxe to that location before the animation plays. All you'd need to know is the proper offset and move the axe towards it. Maybe make it a 2-step procedure.

3. MikeyJY

MikeyJY

Ok thanks, And for chopping trees? Remember I don't have arms only weapons and tools!
    That's my axe animation:
    1st Keyframe:
    upload_2020-2-2_15-1-56.png
    2nd:
    upload_2020-2-2_15-2-16.png
    3rd(same as 2nd):
    upload_2020-2-2_15-2-51.png
    4th(back to 1st):
    upload_2020-2-2_15-3-12.png

I need to simulate the animation, get the impact point, get the hatchet position at the 4th keyframe? I understood partial your explanation!

Attached Files:

hippocoder likes this.
  4. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

You can use . instead of ! to end your sentences. Because ! in our language is basically shouting or being excited, however the text you're using is quite calm.... :)

5. MikeyJY

MikeyJY

Ok, sorry. May I create another thread on this topic because probably no one will reply anymore here?

6. Inxentas

Inxentas