Search Unity

If the network adaptor changes (LAN to Wi-Fi), the Hub silently fails to launch Unity Instances.

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Prodigga, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,025
    Hi

    If you change your network adaptor from the one you used to login to the HUB, you wont be able to open any of your projects. You click on the project you want to launch, HUB closes, and the Unity Instance never launches. It just silently fails. No error dialogues etc. You have to re-launch the HUB, ensure you are on the old network adaptor and try to launch your project again.
     
    Xavier78 likes this.
  2. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,025
    If you launch Unity directly, it will prompt you to sign in to your Unity ID. This is probably what is causing the launcher to fail.
     
  3. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,025
  4. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,025
    Bump..
     
  5. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,025
    Hello?? Dev's: Don't have a forum category if you aren't going to read the posts.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2019
  6. PandaArcade

    PandaArcade

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Posts:
    89
  7. konstantin890

    konstantin890

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Posts:
    9
  8. mathieub

    mathieub

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    48
    Hi @Prodigga , @PandaArcade and @Kosio-Milev,

    First of all, I am really sorry about the delay of our answer. Your messages just passed under our radar.
    Coud you precise the Hub version, editor version and OS you're facing the issue.

    I tried to repro on Windows, with latest hub version and switching between 2 wifi adapters and I did not manage to repro your issue.

    More specifically, those are the steps I followed:
    - Open Hub with wifi adapter A enabled
    - Switched off wifi adapter A and switched on wifi adapter B
    - Open a project (editor 2018.3.3f1).
     
  9. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,025
    I'm not at my work station but it has happened in every version i can remember. Steps:

    Connected on Adaptor 1
    Open Hub
    Open a Unity project (hub is now closed)
    Change adaptor to Adaptor 2
    Close Unity
    Relaunch the hub
    Open your project

    Nothing happens.

    I don't know if it makes a difference but in my case I am usually on the LAN, and I disable the adaptor and enable my wifi adaptor and connect to the WAN. I am not sure if it matters whether or not I connect to the same network or a different network.
     
  10. optimise

    optimise

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,019
  11. mathieub

    mathieub

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    48
    @Prodigga

    I think it worth mentioning your environment, because I don't repro on Windows, Hub 1.4, Unity Editor 2018.3.

    This would help us frame the scope of this issue.
    Thanks for your help
     
  12. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,025
    Hi

    We are using WIndows, Hub 1.5, attempting to launch Unity Editor 2019.1b2. We just tested it again, and it seems like now instead of sitting idle, it relaunches the HUB. Used to be: Open Hub > Select Project > Hub Closes > nothing happens, now its: Open Hub > Select Project > Hub Closes > Hub Relaunches.

    We can reproduce this on 2 separate computers at our office.
     
  13. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,025
    Here is a video if it in action. I launch the hub connected to the lan and launch our project. Works fine. I close our project, change to Wifi, relaunch the hub and relaunch out project. We get stuck in this loop where the hub closes and opens unity, then the hub relaunches and unity closes down. The project never opens successfully. Then I swap back to Lan and launch the project again and lo and behold it works fine.

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KFWs0eHaZ8nuQT7k9_YphgjhI4xemM2g/view?usp=sharing
     
  14. mathieub

    mathieub

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    48
    Thanks @Prodigga , we'll investigate this !
     
  15. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    155
    Hi @Prodigga ,
    Unfortunately, I am unable to reproduce the issue. Although, we have an idea of what may potentially be the issue.
    It is possible that the license is not recognized as valid by the Editor.
    One way you may check if it is the case:
    Back up your license file "Unity_lic.ulf" under "C:\ProgramData\Unity" Quit the Unity Hub with tray menu and restart it once switched network.
    If you are shown with license error, this will prove the validation failed due to network switched.
    Sorry for the inconvenience
     
  16. LuigiNicastro

    LuigiNicastro

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    Is no fix for this yet?
     
  17. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    1,025
    I can confirm this is not fixed yet, I had it happen again 2 weeks ago. So I still occasionally find myself sitting their waiting for Unity to launch because I was on Wifi instead of my Ethernet and it never launches.
     
  18. LuigiNicastro

    LuigiNicastro

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    @Prodigga Try going into your project's file, into the assets folder, and into the scenes folder. You should see a Unity scene file. Click the Unity scene file to launch the Unity Editor with the scene loaded. The rest of your project files should open with it. This worked for me
     
  19. LuigiNicastro

    LuigiNicastro

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    @joeksy I found a temp fix from another forum but this isn't the best one as it's still providing issues. I've uninstalled Unity Hub and reinstalled on the new network card, deactivated license and activated brand new one on the new network card and I'm still getting the issue which is "Unity is already in list".

    Is there still no fix for this?
     
  20. xxShana

    xxShana

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2019
    Posts:
    23
    same problem. I change From LAN to WiFi. When i click start project Hub restart itself and Unity not opening exactly.
     
  21. BasilUnity

    BasilUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Posts:
    93
    Hi @xxShana

    Your active network adapter is used to generate a license and changing active adapters while Unity is running will result in licensing issues. You need to return your existing license and go through the licensing flow in the Hub whenever you switch network adapters.
     
  22. PandaArcade

    PandaArcade

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Posts:
    89
    This is very painful for someone who frequently has to change network adapters!
     
  23. joey34kaze

    joey34kaze

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Had simplicity been a factor there would not be any launcher in the first place.
     
  24. BasilUnity

    BasilUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Posts:
    93
    I'd like to expand on my previous answer because there's quite possible a bug here.

    Normally, if the network interface used for licensing remains present and active, re-licensing Unity should not be necessary. If when you switch connection types, you also disable your other network adapter(s) (e.g., via Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections), the license will stop working. The same is true if your license is bound to a USB device and you unplug it.

    With this said, if you switch from one type of connection to another and both of your network adapters are still enabled and you are experiencing licensing issues, it's likely a bug!

    To help us diagnose the issue, please do the following:
    1. Navigate to your Hub's install location (Unity Hub folder)
    2. Navigate to the following sub-folder: \resources\app.asar.unpacked\node_modules\@unityhub\unity-editor-license\build\Release\
    3. Open a Terminal or PowerShell window.
    4. Run the command nativetest.exe -v > output.txt

    Please respond with the output.txt file attached.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
  25. FuriousEX

    FuriousEX

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Posts:
    38
    I am running into this too - my PC has an ethernet and wifi adapter. If I disable the wifi adapter unity hub won't let me launch unity.

    I tried releasing the seat and going back through the licensing flow again (with the ethernet adapter enabled and the wifi adapter disabled) but still no luck.
     
  26. BasilUnity

    BasilUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Posts:
    93
    Unfortunately this use-case is blocked by a fairly old limitation of the current Unity licensing system. It has been addressed in the newest Hub release (2.3.2) but the fixes on the Editor side are not yet live. They will be in Unity Editor 2019.4 LTS soon (tm). Once the Editor-side solution is public, I will explain how to configure older Unity Editors to circumvent this issue.
     
    Repaga-Dev likes this.
  27. Repaga-Dev

    Repaga-Dev

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Hello,

    Need to up this thread. I recently moved and I'm now using a Wifi connection. If I disable the ethernet adapter (previously used), the projects won't launch. If I enable the ethernet adapter, Unity works but I'm losing my Wifi internet connection.

    Using :
    Unity Hub 2.3.2
    Unity Editor 2019.4.1f1 & 2019.4.4f1 (even the upgrade of a project from 4.1 to 4.4 does not work)
    Personal licence (previously Plus licence, but I did not see any link with the licence downgrade)

    PS : new information, I succeeded creating a new project with 2019.4.1f1 (LTS) & 2019.4.4f1, but unable to open it again...

    Do you have any news on this issue ?

    Thank you.
     
    PandaArcade likes this.
  28. BasilUnity

    BasilUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Posts:
    93
    Hi @Repaga-Dev :
    As of today, the branch with the fix is approved for merge with 2020.1 and is due any day now. The branch for 2019.4 is still pending approval by QA but it should be approved by the end of the week.

    Can you please explain this part?

    "If I enable the ethernet adapter, Unity works but I'm losing my Wifi internet connection."
    Why is your WiFi only working when the ethernet adapter is disabled?
     
  29. Repaga-Dev

    Repaga-Dev

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks for the info about the fix.

    My Wifi works well (with or without ethernet adapter enabled) until I launch Unity, it shut down the connection, detecting no more wifi network. I have to close Unity and reset my wifi adapter to make it works again. I have to enable Ethernet adapter to succeed launching Unity only.
     
  30. BasilUnity

    BasilUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Posts:
    93
    So, if I understand correctly, if you have both WiFi and Ethernet enabled, when you launch Unity you lose full connectivity?? Does this occur with Unity Hub or Unity Editor? It sounds very alarming and if it's a bug on our end, I want to look into it.
     
  31. Repaga-Dev

    Repaga-Dev

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Yes, you understand correctly.
    With Ethernet Adapter disabled : Unity refuses to launch
    With Ethernet adapter enabled : Unity launches the project, but shut down the Wifi connection.
    It happens when launching Unity Editor.

    If I can help, do not hesitate.
    I only worked with an ethernet connection before, but I moved soon and just had a Wifi connection. Now we have passed an 10m Ethernet cable to avoid this problem.
     
  32. Xavier78

    Xavier78

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Happening for me also, the newest version of unity 2019.4.5f1. Is this set to be fixed soon?
     
  33. wizloc

    wizloc

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Also encountering this issue. Unity Hub version 2.4.2 and Unity version 2019.2.17f1. If I disable my ethernet connection so that my only connection is Wifi (so that I can use port forwarding rules set on my router), I am unable to launch Unity instances from the Hub. It acts like it is opening a Unity instance and displays the splash screen, then silently fails and focuses the hub app again. This happens even if I quit the Unity Hub and reopen after disabling my ethernet.
     
    PandaArcade and Prodigga like this.
  34. Fenrisul

    Fenrisul

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    602
    Trying to help someone on Unity discord resolve this now too... I've encountered it and resolved it be ensuring there are no lingering network adapters but I've all but exhausted options with their particular problem.

    Fresh install of Hub 2.4.2 and a fresh install 2019.4 LTS (.18 i think).
     
  35. geert-hexagon

    geert-hexagon

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Guys, I am trying to run Unity on my brand new Mac through Parallels, so as a Windows install. The Hub keeps crashing, I cannot find any way to start working in Unity. The network adapter is a "Parallels VirtIO Ethernet Adapter".

    I'm completely blocked ... pls help. Is there any way to get started without the hub?
     
  36. SSUAR

    SSUAR

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Posts:
    7
  37. motiontops

    motiontops

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Happening to me too!
    Unity Hub Version: 2.4.5
    Tried several Unity versions.

    I've always used WiFi, however, I've changed providers if that changes anything. Tried EVERYTHING and my projects are not working. Literally had to put my start-up on pause because of this issue and tempted to look elsewhere, only issue is I'd have to relearn how to use a new tool. Which is sad because I really like Unity.
     
  38. ChristophVaz

    ChristophVaz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Possible fix here:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/uni...ersion-while-opening-legacy-projects.1186807/

    Unity Hub Online Activation, send the Physical Address(Binding Key="5") of your main network device in your MOBO.
    If you have two network devices like me for example(integrated WIFI and Ethernet) the main one will be the first one, on the PCI bus on your MOBO(WIFI in my case), not sure if this can be change on Windows.
    But you can do a manual activation and provide the proper Enable physical address on your Unity_lic.alf text file to the Activation Website, and receive a proper license with the right Enable network device, giving you access to legacy editor projects.

    On a side note, the simple solution would be enable both network devices, but if you, like me, disable and use only one, I m sure, regardless of device, you need to feed the Physical Address manually on activation.
     
unityunity