Search Unity

If I update to 4.6, will my data and projects transfer over?

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by shay4545, Aug 21, 2014.

  1. shay4545

    shay4545

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Posts:
    27
    Title explains my question
     
  2. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,441
    You should make a backup copy of your whole project,
    then can try opening it in 4.6..(which version you are using now?)

    And you can install multiple versions of unity,
    so keep your current version still installed.
     
  3. DanielQuick

    DanielQuick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Posts:
    3,137
    The projects are separate from the application. Installing 4.6 will not automatically update all of your projects to 4.6. If you open one of your projects with 4.6 however, you will not be able to open them in an earlier version.

    You can have Unity ask which project to open on startup otherwise it will automatically open your last project - which you may not want upgraded.
     
  4. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,401
    You should always (no exceptions, ever):

    1) Keep a non-beta version of Unity installed in addition to the beta.
    2) Have backups of your projects. Preferably with some kind of version control (if you're on OS X, Time Machine will do if you don't want to set anything else up).

    So if something goes kaflooey you don't end up starting a topic about "can I revert my project"....

    --Eric
     
  5. djweinbaum

    djweinbaum

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Posts:
    533
    I moved my fairly-massive project over. Not a single error or warning in the console when I opened it. Everything works fine. I backed it up of course, and did a separate install of 4.6. I'm currently porting all my daikon forge GUI to uGUI. Its going pretty well so far.