Search Unity

If i accept a freelance job, can i still use personal license?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by br222, Mar 24, 2021.

1. br222

br222

Hi, i currently use personal license, and there's a freelancer oppotunity and i was wondering if i accept that work, can i still use my personal license?
    The client is an employee of a game company, the company use pro license, but the client is not working in the game developement department, and she don't use unity in her dayjob. She's hiring freelancer to work for her own project, not a project of her company.
    So, i was wondering if i work as a freelancer for her, can i still use my personal license? Or i'll have to use a pro license? If pro is the case, i think i'll have to tell her i can't accept this job...

2. AFAIK you need to match the license used by the hiring party. But this was discussed thousand times on the forums and if you still don't understand, the best course of action is asking unity through the support section describing your situation.

Ryiah and MadeFromPolygons like this.
  3. br222

br222

Thank you. i tried to search for this topic and i found several discussions (such as this one: https://forum.unity.com/threads/license-question-for-freelance-work.710936/), but i still don't know which license will i use if i accept that freelance job in my case, i know the license i use must match my client's if i work for her, but i don't know which license will my client use, she says she never used unity before.
    And thank you for your advice to ask unity through the support section, i'll ask them later when they are online.

4. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons

It doesnt matter whether they have used unity or not. If the entity earn s$100,000+ per year (including funding etc) then you need unity plus. If it earns $200,000+ in a year, you need unity pro. Its as simple as that.

Last edited: Mar 24, 2021
    Ryiah likes this.
  5. br222

br222