Search Unity

Identical Scripts, Different Behavior?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by williamsmd90, Jan 7, 2019.

1. williamsmd90

williamsmd90

I'm new to Unity and scripting, but I've just come across something strange. I was following a tutorial where we made the enemy move around set points in the play area. It works perfectly in the script that I did while following the tutorial a few days ago. Now that I try to use it for another project, it's not showing the same behaviors. Here's the original code:

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    3. public class EnemyPatrol : MonoBehaviour
    4. {
    5.     public Transform[] patrolPoints;
    7.     public float moveSpeed;
    9.     private int currentPoint;
    11.     private void Start()
    12.     {
    13.         transform.position = patrolPoints[0].position;
    15.         currentPoint = 0;
    16.     }
    18.     private void FixedUpdate()
    19.     {
    20.         if(transform.position == patrolPoints[currentPoint].position)
    21.         {
    22.             currentPoint++;
    23.         }
    25.         if(currentPoint >= patrolPoints.Length)
    26.         {
    27.             currentPoint = 0;
    28.         }
    30.         transform.position = Vector3.MoveTowards(transform.position, patrolPoints[currentPoint].position, moveSpeed * Time.deltaTime);
    31.     }
    32. }